A.C. Buehler Library: ENG 106 Composition II : Start with Reference

In the Beginning

There are many ways to start research.

One place is with General Resources.

These are encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and other reference sources that give an overview or broad picture of your topic. You should consider starting your research process with General Resources if:

You are starting research on an unfamiliar topic
You need some background information on your topic
You find gaps in your information and want to fill them in

Another Helpful Source

Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies offers extensive and objective analysis of hundreds of today’s hot topics by presenting the key facts, arguments, history, and current context of today’s most important issues, along with a wealth of primary sources, videos, and relevant media coverage. Each article presents both sides of an issue clearly and without bias in order to inspire thought-provoking discussions.

General Resources in the A.C. Buehler Library

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online collection of over 1000 reference books, covering a wide range of subjects, from art to technology. Credo Reference also includes a selection of specialized reference books from Sage Publishing.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of hundreds of print reference titles and series, allowing you access to key reference sources without having to be in the library. Includes a variety of topics, and all titles in the Scribner's and Twayne's author series. Most Gale eBook titles can also be accessed through I-Share.

Reference Resources Exercise

Choose one of the electronic reference databases above. Do a search for a topic like

your favorite invertebrate (for example, earthworm)
a historical period you're interested in
a sporting event (like the World Cup or the Olympics)

. Complete the attached worksheet, answering the questions based on your results.

Reference Resources Exercise

Some argument book series

Biodiversity by Greenhaven Press Editors (Editor); Noah Berlatsky (Editor)
Call Number: 333.95 B615B
ISBN: 9780737769050
Publication Date: 2013-10-15
Drug Legalization by Noël Merino (Editor)
Call Number: 364.177 D794L 2015
ISBN: 9780737772166
Publication Date: 2015-03-10
Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Social Issues, Expanded by Kurt Finsterbusch
Call Number: 306.0973 T136 2012
ISBN: 9780078139475
Publication Date: 2013-06-27

The Library has several book series:

Opposing Viewpoints
Global Viewpoints
Current Controversies
Taking Sides

which are good for beginning research, and for exploring a range of possibilities for research questions and argument theses. See the examples linked above, or search for your topic in the catalog. Just add the series name in the search box with your topic.