Skip to main content

Artists of the Elmhurst College Art Collection: Artists of the E.C. Art Collection

Bibliography: Artists of the Elmhurst College Art Collection

The Elmhurst College art collection is included in the Art and Architecture in Illinois Libraries project. You can also find out more about the collection via the College's website: https://www.elmhurst.edu/about/location/elmhurst-college-art-collection/

Abercrombie, Gertrude. Gertrude Abercrombie: Portrait of the Artist as a Landscape. Elmhurst, Illinois : Elmhurst Art Museum, 2018. Call No. SPEC 709.77311 A1446

Abstract/Symbol/Image: A Re-Vision. Chicago: Illinois Arts Council, 1984. Call No. SPECC 759.13 A164 

  • Includes William Conger, Roland Ginzel, Miyoko Ito, Richard Loving, Frank Piatek, Barbara Rossi, Evelyn Statsinger, Ray Yoshida

Adrian, Dennis and Richard A. Born. The Chicago Imagist Print: Ten Artists’ Works, 1958-1987. Chicago: David and Alfred Smart Gallery, 1987. Call No. 709.77311 A243c

  • Includes Roger Brown, Art Green,  Philip Hanson, Gladys Nilsson, Jim Nutt, Ed Paschke, Christina Ramberg, Suellen Rocca, Barbara Rossi, Karl Wirsum

Adrian, Dennis. Sight Out of Mind: Essays and Criticism on Art. Ann Arbor, MI: UMI Research Press, 1985.  Call No. 709.77311 A243s

  • Includes Don Baum, Roger Brown, Miyoko Ito, Paul LaMantia, Robert Lostutter, Ed Paschke, Karl Wirsum, Ray Yoshida

American Exhibition/Art Institute of Chicago. Chicago: The Institute.  Call No. 709.77311 A784am

  • 63:1960  Includes Richard Hunt
  • 64:1961  Includes Roland Ginzel, Richard Hunt, Ellen Lanyon, Seymour Rosofsky
  • 65:1962  Includes Richard Hunt
  • 71:1974  Includes Roger Brown, Richard Hunt, Ed Paschke
  • 72:1976  Includes Jim Nutt

Annual Exhibition by Artists of Chicago and Vicinity. Chicago: Art Institute of Chicago.  Call No. 709.77311 A784a

  • 41:1937  Includes Gertrude Abercombie
  • 44:1940  Includes Gertrude Abercrombie
  • 46:1942  Includes Gertrude Abercrombie
  • 51:1947  Includes Gertrude Abercrombie, Miyoko Ito, Ellen Lanyon
  • 72:1969  Includes Roger Brown, Ed Flood, Roland Ginzel, Philip Hanson, Miyoko Ito, Thomas Kapsalis, Ellen Lanyon, Richard Loving, Ed Paschke, Frank Piatek, Christina Ramberg, Seymour Rosofsky, Karl Wirsum
  • 74:1973  Includes Don Baum, William Conger, Roland Ginzel, Philip Hanson, Miyoko Ito, Paul LaMantia, Ellen Lanyon, Robert Lostutter, Ed Paschke, Christina Ramberg, Barbara Rossi, Hollis Sigler, Steven Urry
  • 75:1975  Includes Phyllis Bramson, Roger Brown, Art Green, Miyoko Ito, Paul LaMantia, Robert Lostutter, Ed Paschke, Christina Ramberg, Seymour Rosofsky, Barbara Rossi, Evelyn Statsinger, Ray Yoshida
  • 77:1978  Includes Phyllis Bramson, William Conger, Roland Ginzel, Miyoko Ito, Sandra Jorgensen, Paul LaMantia, Ellen Lanyon, Robert Lostutter, Gladys  Nilsson, Jim Nutt, Ed Paschke, Frank Piatek, Seymour Rosofsky, Barbara Rossi, Hollis Sigler, Evelyn Statsinger

Art in Chicago, 1945-1995. New York, NY: Thames and Hudson, 1996. Call No. 759.177311 A792

  • Includes Gertrude Abercrombie, Don Baum, Vera Berdich, Phyllis Bramson, Roger Brown, William Conger, Dominick Di Meo, Roland Ginzel, Ted Halkin, Philip Hanson, Richard Hunt, Miyoko Ito, Paul LaMantia, Ellen Lanyon, Robert Lostutter, Gladys Nilsson, Jim Nutt, Ed Paschke, Frank Piatek, Kerig Pope, Christina Ramberg, Suellen Rocca, Barbara Rossi, Seymour Rosofsky, David Sharpe, Hollis Sigler, Evelyn Statsinger, Steven Urry, Margaret Wharton, Karl Wirsum, Joseph Yoakum, Ray Yoshida

Art Institute of Chicago. Whitney Halstead Memorial Exhibition. Chicago: Art Institute of Chicago, 1980. Call No. 709.77311 A784w

  • Includes Vera Berdich, Roger Brown, Dominick Di Meo, Ed Flood, Lorri Gunn, Whitney Halstead, Ted Halkin, Philip Hanson, Miyoko Ito, Sandra Jorgensen, Thomas Kapsalis, Paul Madalinski, Gladys Nilsson, Jim Nutt, Richard Paulsen, Christina Ramberg, Barbara Rossi, Evelyn Statsinger, Karl Wirsum, Ray Yoshida

Baum, Don. Don Baum: A Review of Works from 1947-1981. Call No. 709.24 B347H

______. Domus--Baum, Don. Cal No. 709.24 B447D

Benezra, Neal David. Ed Paschke. New York: Hudson Hills Press, 1990. Call No. 709.77311 P279Yb

Berks, Robert. Biographies in Bronze; Portrait Sculpture by Robert Berks: An Exhibition, the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum, April 20-Nov. 26, 1989. Call No. 730.92 B513B

Bramson, Phyllis. Phyllis Bramson, 1973-1986. Chicago: Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago, 1986. Call No. 759.13 B815p

Braun-Reinitz, Janet. On the Wall: Four Decades of Community Murals in New York City. Jackson, Miss. : University Press of Mississippi, c2009. Call No. 751.73 B8250.

Chicago–Some Other Traditions. Madison, WI: Madison Art Center, 1983. Call No. 709.77311 C532t

  • Includes Phyllis Bramson, William Conger, Thomas Kapsalis, Paul LaMantia, Robert Lostutter, Richard Loving, Frank Piatek, Hollis Sigler, Evelyn Statsinger

Chicago's Famous Buildings. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, c2003. Call No. 720.977311 C532

Collaborative Vision: The Poetic Dialogue Project. [San Francisco, CA] : Blurb, c2008. Call No. 709.7309051 C697

Carroll, Patty. Spirited Visions: Portraits of Chicago Artists. Urbana, IL: University of Illinois Press, 1991.  Call No. 779.2092 C319s

  • Includes Don Baum, Phyllis Bramson, Roger Brown, William Conger, Richard Hunt, Robert Lostutter, Richard Loving, Gladys Nilsson, Jim Nutt, Ed Paschke, Frank Piatek, Barbara Rossi, Hollis Sigler, Margaret Wharton, Karl Wirsum, Ray Yoshida, Mary Lou Zelazny

Cockcroft, Eva Sperling, John Pitman Weber and James Cockcroft. Toward a People’s Art: The Contemporary Mural Movement. New York: Dutton, 1977. Call No. 751.73 C665t

________. Toward a People’s Art: The Contemporary Mural Movement. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 1998. Call No. 751.73 C665t 1998

Conger, William. William Conger: Paintings 1958-2008: Chicago Cultural Center, January 24-March 29, 2009. Call No. 759.13 C749W.

Cozzolino, Robert. Art in Chicago: Resisting Regionalism, Transforming Modernism. Philadelphia: Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, 2007. Call No. 759.177311 C882a

  • Includes Gertrude Abercrombie, Don Baum, Phyllis Bramson, Roger Brown, Dominick Di Meo, Ted Halkin, Philip Hanson, Richard Hunt, Miyoko Ito, Paul LaMantia, Ellen Lanyon, Gladys Nilsson, Jim Nutt, Ed Paschke, Christina Ramberg, Suellen Rocca, Seymour Rosofsky, Barbara Rossi, Hollis Sigler, Evelyn Statsinger, Karl Wirsum, Joseph Yoakum, Ray Yoshida

DePasse, Derrel B. Traveling the Rainbow: the Life and Art of Joseph E. Yoakum. New York: Museum of American Folk Art, 2001. Call No. 759.13 Y54d

Falconer, Jim. The collected Hairy Who Publications, 1966-1969. New York : Matthew Marks Gallery, [2015]. Call No. 709.77311 C697.

Fernandes, Joyce. Chicago Works: Art from the Windy City. Erie, PA: Erie Art Museum, 1989. Call No. SPECC 709.77311 F363c 

  • Includes Robert Lostutter,  Christina Ramberg, Hollis Sigler, Margaret Wharton

Flood, Ed. Hairy Who and the Chicago Imagists. Film. Call No. VIDEO 709.77311 H153

  • See Jim Falconer

Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American Literature. Call No. 810.9

Gertrude Abercrombie and Friends. Springfield, IL: Illinois State Museum, 1983. Call No. 709.77311 I29g

Ginzel, Roland. Roland Ginzel. Springfield, IL: Illinois State Museum, 1975. Call No. SPECC 759.13 G435r

Green, Art. The Collected Hairy Who Publications, 1966-1969. Call No. 709.77311 C697

  • See Jim Falconer

Grube, Oswald W. 100 Years of Architecture in Chicago: Continuity of Structure and Form. Chicago : Follett, 1976. Call No. 720.977311 G8850.

Gude, Olivia and Jeff Huebner. Urban Art Chicago: a Guide to Community Murals, Mosaics, and Sculptures. Chicago: Ivan R. Dee, 2000. Call No. 709.77311 G922u

  • Includes John Pitman Weber, Bernard William

Gunn, Lorri. 100 Essential Modern Poems. Chicago : Ivan R. Dee, 2005. Call No. 821.9108 O58.

Halstead, Whitney. Whitney Halstead Memorial Exhibition. [Chicago : The Institute, 1980]. Call No. 709.77311 A784W

Hanson, Philip. Philip Hanson: Works from 1968-1985. Chicago: Hyde Park Arts Center, 1985. Call No. SPECC 759.13 H251P

________. The Subtle Diagram. Call No. 759.13 H251PS

Hunt, Richard. Sculpting a Chicago Artist: Richard Hunt and His Teachers: Nelli Bar and Egon Weiner. Des Plaines, Illinois : Koehnline Museum of Art, [2018]. Call No. 730.873 S437

Illinois Women Artists: the New Millennium. Champaign, IL: Illinois Committee for the National Museum of Women in the Arts, 1999.  Call No. 704.042 I29

  • Includes Gladys Nilsson, Eleanor Spiess-Ferris, Evelyn Statsinger, Margaret Wharton

Illinois % for Art. SPECC 709.773 C244I

Imaging the Word: an Arts and Lectionary Resource. Cleveland, Ohio : United Church Press, 1994-1996. Call No. 263.9 I31

Ito, Miyoko. Miyoko Ito, Mistress of the Sea. Chicago: Thomas McCormick Gallery, 2000. Call No. 759.13 I89M

Kings & Queen: Pinball, Imagists, and Chicago. Elmhurst, Illinois : Elmhurst Art Museum, [2017]. Call No. 709.77311 K55

Knigin, Michael and Murray Zimiles. The Technique of Fine Art Lithography. New York : Van Nostrand Reinhold, ©1970. Call No. 763 K71T

Lamantia, Paul. The Outlaw Bible of American Poetry. New York : Basic Books, c1999. Call No. 811.5408 O94.

Lanyon, Ellen. Ellen Lanyon: Transformations, selected works from 1971-1999. Washington, D.C.: National Museum of Women in the Arts, 1999. Call No.759.13 L296E

Lawrence, Sidney. Roger Brown. New York: G. Braziller, in association with the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, 1987. Call No. 709.77311 B879R

Lawrence, Sidney.  Roger Brown: Southern Exposure. Tuscaloosa, AL: University of Alabama Press, 2007.  Call No. 709.2 L423R

Made in Chicago. Washington: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1974. Call No. 709.77311 M181

  • Includes Roger Brown, Ed Flood, Whitney Halstead, Philip Hanson, Gladys Nilsson, Jim Nutt, Ed Paschke, Kerig Pope, Christina Ramberg, Barbara Rossi, Karl Wirsum, Ray Yoshida

Meilach, Dona Z. Direct Metal Sculpture. New York: Crown, 1966. Call No. 731.4 M513D

  • Includes Thomas Kapsalis

Nilsson, Gladys. Gladys Nilsson. Davis, CA: John Natsoulas Press, 1993. Call No. 759.13 N712G

Nutt, Jim. Jim Nutt. San Francisco: San Francisco Art Institute, 1975. Call No. 759.13 N977JE

________. Jim Nutt, Recent Work: May 4-June 18, 1983. London: Mayer Gallery, 1983. Call No. SPECC 759.13 N977JR

________. Jim Nutt. Milwaukee: Milwaukee Art Museum, 1994. Call No. 759.13 N977J

Painting at Northwestern: Conger, Paschke, Valerio. Evanston, IL: Mary and Leigh Block Gallery, Northwestern University, 1986. Call No. 759.13 P148

Partners in Purchase: Selected Works, 1976-1987: Exhibition/Assembled by William C, Landwehr. Peoria, IL: Lakeview Museum of Arts and Sciences, 1990 c1989. Call No. 707.4 P273

  • Includes Phyllis Bramson, William Conger, Roland Ginzel, Philip Hanson, Paul LaMantia, Robert Lostutter, Richard Loving, Richard Hunt, Miyoko Ito, Gladys Nilsson, Jim Nutt, Ed Paschke, Christina Ramberg, Barbara Rossi, Hollis Sigler, Karl Wirsum, Ray Yoshida

Paschke, Ed. Ed Paschke. Produced by Horsfield/Blumenthal. 40 min. Video Data Bank, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, 1983. Videocassette. Call No. VIDEO 759.13 P279E

________. Ed Paschke, New Paintings, 1983. Pittsburgh, PA: Hewlett Gallery, Carnegie-Mellon University, 1983. Call No. SPECC 759.13 P279e

Paulson, Richard. Writers for Young Adults. New York, N.Y. : Charles Scribner's Sons, c1997. Call No. 810.99283

Pekar, Harvey. The Beats: A Graphic History. New York : Hill and Wang, 2009. Call No. 810.90054 P379B

Ramberg, Christina. Christina Ramberg: A Retrospective, 1968-1988. Chicago, IL: Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago, 1988. Call No. 759.13 R167c

________. Christina Ramberg Drawings. Call No. SPECC 741 R167C

Rocca, Suellen. Suellen Rocca. New York, New York : Matthew Marks Gallery, 2016. SPECC 709.2 R6713

Rodriguez, Patrick. A Promised Land, a Perilous Journey: Theological Perspecitves on Migration.  Notre Dame, Ind. : University of Notre Dame Press, ©2008. Ebook Central.

Rossi, Barbara. From the Ocean of Painting: India's Popular Paintings, 1589 to the Present. New York : Oxford University Press, 1998. Call No. 745.0954 R831F

Schulze, Franz. Fantastic Images; Chicago Art Since 1945. Chicago: Follett, 1972. Call No. 709.77311 S391f

  • Includes Don Baum, Roger Brown, Jordan Davies, Ed Flood, Ted Halkin, Philip Hanson, Miyoko Ito, Ellen Lanyon, Gladys Nilsson, Jim Nutt, Ed Paschke, Frank Piatek, Kerig Pope, Christina Ramberg, Seymour Rosofsky, Barbara Rossi, Evelyn Statsinger, Steven Urry, Karl Wirsum

________. Mies van der Rohe: a Critical Biography. Call No. 720.973 M632YSC

Seaman, Donna. Identity Unknown: Rediscovering Seven American Women Artists. New York, NY : Bloomsbury USA, 2017. Call No. 709.22 S438I

Sigler, Hollis. Hollis Sigler, Paintings, Drawings and Prints, 1976-1986. Akron, OH: Akron Art Museum, 1986. Call No. SPECC 759.13 S577h

________. Hollis Sigler’s Breast Cancer Journal. New York: Hudson Hills Press, 1999. Call No. 759.13 S577h

Some Recent Art from Chicago. Chapel Hill, NC: Ackland Art Museum, 1980. Call No. 709.77311 S693

  • Includes Don Baum, Roger Brown, Ed Flood, Philip Hanson, Gladys Nilsson, Jim Nutt, Ed Paschke, Christina Ramberg, Suellen Rocca, Barbara Rossi, Karl Wirsum, Joseph Yoakum, Ray Yoshida

Sundell, Ivy. Art Scene Chicago 2000. Evanston, IL: Crow Woods Pub., 2000. Call No. 709.77311 S957a

  • Includes Thomas Kapsalis, Frank Piatek, Eleanor Spiess-Ferris, John Pitman Weber, Izumi Yoshitani

Urgent Messages. Chicago: Chicago Office of Fine Arts, 1987. Call No. 700.904074 U75

  • Includes Roger Brown, Jim Nutt, Hollis Sigler, Karl Wirsum

University of Michigan. Museum of Art. Chicago: the City and its Artists 1945-1978, The University of Michigan Museum of Art  March 17-April 23, 1978. Ann Arbor, MI: The University, 1978.  Call No. 709.77311 M624c

  • Includes Don Baum, Miyoko Ito, Ellen Lanyon, Ed Paschke

Urry, Steven. Steven Jay Urry: a Retrospective. Desplaines, IL : Oakton Community College, 2012. Call No. 730.92 V81S

Van Horn, Gavin. City Creatures: Animal Encounters in the Chicago Wilderness. Chicago : The University of Chicago Press, 2015. Call No. 591.756 V256C

Weber, John Pitman. John Pitman Weber: The Big Picture. [San Francisco] : Blurb, c2012. Call No. 709.2 W274J

What Nerve!: Alternative Figures in American Art, 1960 to the Present. New York, NY : D.A.P./Distributed Art Publishers, Inc., [2014]. Call No. 709.7307474

Who Chicago? An Exhibition of Contemporary Imagists. Sunderland, England: Ceolfrith Gallery, Sunderland Arts Centre, 1980. Call No. 709.77311 W628

  • Includes Roger Brown, Art Green, Philip Hanson, Gladys Nilsson, Jim Nutt, Ed Paschke, Christina Ramberg, Suellen Rocca, Barbara Rossi, Karl Wirsum, Joseph Yoakum, Ray Yoshida

Windows and Mirrors: Reflections on the War in Afghanistan. [Philadelphia, PA?] : American Friends Service Committee : [2010]. Call No. 704.9499581 W765

Wirsum, Karl. Karl Wirsum: A Retrospective, 30 April-24 May 1986. New York: Phyllis Kind Gallery, 1986. Call No. SPECC 759.13 W798k

Wye, Deborah. Committed to Print: Social and Political Themes in Recent American Printed Art. New York : Museum of Modern Art, ©1988. Call No. 760.904 W979C

Yood, James. Second Sight: Printmaking in Chicago 1935-1995. Evanston, IL: Mary and Leigh Block Gallery, Northwestern University, 1996. Call No. 769.977311 Y54s

  • Includes Gertrude Abercrombie, Don Baum,Vera Berdich, Phyllis Bramson, Roger Brown, William Conger, Roland Ginzel, Philip Hanson, Richard Hunt, Miyoko Ito, Ellen Lanyon, Robert Lostutter, Richard Loving,  Gladys Nilsson, Jim Nutt, Ed Paschke, Frank Piatek, Christina Ramberg, Suellen Rocca, Seymour Rosofsky, Barbara Rossi, Hollis Sigler, Evelyn Statsinger, Karl Wirsum, Ray Yoshida

Yoshida, Ray. Ray Yoshida: A Retrospective 1968-1998. Honolulu: Contemporary Museum, 1998. Call No. 759.13 Y65r

_____. Ray Yoshida: A Review, May 4-June 1984. Chicago: N.A.M.E. Gallery, 1984. Call No. SPECC 759.13 Y65r

Zimiles, Murray. Murray Zimiles: Drawings, Paintings, Sculpture, Cast Paper, Mixed Media, and Prints. Kent, Conn. : Olcott Damon Smith Gallery, Kent Boys School, [1977]. SPECC 709.2 Z71M