A.C. Buehler Library: BIO 315 Genetics: Biology Databases

Good Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts from over 12,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from 8,500 titles, including more than 7,300 that are peer-reviewed. Almost every topic of study is covered. The database is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from more than 1,400 journals.
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
OmniFile Full Text Select Edition is a multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing full text articles, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts. Coverage of more than 3100 publications goes back to 1994.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An electronic archive of journal titles in a variety of disciplines, often going back to the first issue of a journal's existence. In addition, a collection of over 1.8 million digital images of paintings, photos, architectural works, sculptures, and design pieces from around the world from all time periods.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a collection of more than 612,000 scholarly, government and general-interest records that include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,470 journals. Coverage back to 1949 with fulltext back to 1965, includes searchable citations to more than 4800 current journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A free, comprehensive, medical journal literature database from the National Library of Medicine (NLM). This link includes a button that will search Elmhurst University resources.

Finding an Article in a Reference List

Citation Linker - Bluejay Search
Elmhurst University's Citation Linker - Bluejay Search allows you to input a citation, DOI or PMID and retrieve the item if it is available in full text.

Bluejay Search This link opens in a new window

Article Interlibrary Loan Form
Provide your information and information about this article on this form. We will request it from another school.
Finding a Journal by Title
Use this tool to determine if and in which database we hold the full-text of a particular journal.

Best Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences and social sciences and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Elmhurst's subscription includes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index, both with coverage from 1998-present.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
An index to materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, forestry, animal science, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental science acquired by the National Agriculture Library since 1970. Contains nearly 5 million citations to journal articles, AV materials and book chapters, patents, software, technical reports and theses.
ScienceDirect College Edition (Social and Behavioral Sciences) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to the entire Elsevier library. In addition, there is access to full-text articles in over 350 psychology and social science journals for the most recent 5 years. Besides listing articles that are already in print, ScienceDirect also lists articles that are about to be published.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A search engine to broadly search for scholarly literature from one platform across many disciplines and sources.

Discovery System

Definition: An online resource that searches multiple databases in order to present all available material locally held in a library and available as online sources.

Bluejay Search This link opens in a new window
Welcome to Elmhurst's library catalog, Bluejay Search! This catalog has replaced I-Share and does so much more! Search for books, A/V, e-resources, articles and more from one place, as well as information about items located in 91 academic and research libraries in Illinois.

Subject Guide

Jennifer Paliatka

Email Me

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Computer Science & Information Systems, Data Science, Mathematics, Physics, Psychology