DDDP - FYS 100-02 (SP 2023): Carrico - Disabilities, Differences, and Disorders - A.C. Buehler Library at Elmhurst University

APA Style

Purdue OWL
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) from Purdue University helps with writing and citing in APA and MLA formats.
Writing & Citing

Videos At Elmhurst

Video Guide

Finding Disability Organizations

Finding Documentaries on Disabilities

Top 15 Special Needs Documentaries
Media and Disability Resources
Includes documentaries, feature films, TV series and reality programs.

Search for Books

Bluejay Search This link opens in a new window
Welcome to Elmhurst's library catalog, Bluejay Search! This catalog has replaced I-Share and does so much more! Search for books, A/V, e-resources, articles and more from one place, as well as information about items located in 91 academic and research libraries in Illinois.

The "card catalog" of the A.C. Buehler Library. Use this resource to find books, journal titles, movies, and music owned by Elmhurst University, and information about items located in 80 academic and research libraries in Illinois.

This handy video explains how to get started with BlueJay Search. Reach out to the Reference Desk via chat from the library homepage or email at library@elmhurst.edu.

Finding Empirical Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts from over 12,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from 8,500 titles, including more than 7,300 that are peer-reviewed. Almost every topic of study is covered. The database is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from more than 1,400 journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Contains selective full-text access to over 500 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Using the Advanced Search Box, scroll down and do the following:

Check the Peer Reviewed Box
Limit your search to the last 10 years
Remember to create a list of sources using the Cite feature on the right toolbar
- Choose APA Style for your presentation

Recognizing Empirical Articles

You are being asked to locate and use articles that are "empirical research". Empirical research uses data derived from actual observation or experimentation.

To determine if an article is an empirical research article, use these guidelines (from USF's guide listed below):

What is the name of the journal? Popular magazines like Newsweek or Time don’t publish empirical research articles; publications like the Journal of Educational Research or the Journal of Educational Psychology do.
How long is the article? An empirical research article is usually substantial, not 1 or 2 pages.
Does the article contain references to other works? Serious researchers always cite their sources.
Does the abstract of the article contain variations of the words study, measure, subjects, data, survey, or statistical to describe the empirical research?

Here are some resources that explain what empirical research is.

Research Methods: Understanding: Empirical Research This is a tutorial aimed at linguistics majors, but has some useful information on the process of empirical research.
Strategies for finding empirical studies and research articles This site gives some suggestions on terms to use when searching library databases for empirical articles.
What are empirical research articles? - a brief guide from Cal Poly Pomona with examples using EBSCO databases
Finding Empirical Research for Psychology - from University of San Francisco (USF)

FYS 100-02 (SP 2023): Carrico - Disabilities, Differences, and Disorders: DDDP