Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Find Permanent Links in Databases: Finding and Using Permanent Links from Databases

Athenize Your Links

OpenAthens iconUse the Athenizer link below to create links to library content.

https://go.openathens.net/generate/elmhurst.edu/72005403

Copy and paste a persistent link to an article, ebook, or streaming audio/video to generate a link that will authenticate from off campus. See the instructions below on finding persistent links from specific databases

NOTE: EBSCO, ProQuest, Gale, and Kanopy URLs do not need to be Athenized. These providers use a customer/account id in the links to direct you to our account; just be sure these strings are in the links you plan to use.

  • EBSCO (articles and ebooks)
    • &custid=s8887025
    • &authtype=shib
  • ProQuest (articles)
    • ?accountid=10727
  • ProQuest ebook Central
    • elmhurst
  • Gale
    • elmhurst
  • Kanopy
    • elmhurstu.kanopy.com

Manually Adding the OA Prefix
All those %this and %that bits in the URLs created by the Athenizer are called percent encoding and are used on characters like / and : when one web page is being passed another web address in the URL. They make sure that the webpage that is reading them doesn't get confused. You can also manually add a prefix to a permalink or DOI URL. Our OpenAthens (OA) proxy server address is: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/elmhurst.edu?url=

For example, if the persistent URL provided by the database is http://www.jstor.org/stable/40058132, just copy and paste our proxy server address at the beginning so the persistent URL looks like this:

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/elmhurst.edu?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/40058132

Find Permanent Links to Articles, Documents, Streaming Audio, and Video

Persistent URLs (also called PURLs, stable URLs, persistent links, or durable links) are internet addresses that (hopefully) always remain the same. They are provided by online databases so one can access individual full-text articles, documents, video and/or audio clips directly. These can be shared with students by placing the links in a course management system like Blackboard as a preferred alternative to placing physical copies of materials on reserve at the library. Many of the library’s database subscriptions’ licensing allow these materials to be used in Blackboard. Proper linking using these persistent URLs is also important because it keeps us in line with copyright and fair use.

Click on the database vendor name to find specific instructions on finding/creating persistent links to be placed in Blackboard.

Database Vendor
ABC-CLIO ebooks ABC-CLIO
Academic Search Complete EBSCOhost
Academic Video Online: Premium (AVON) Alexander Street Press
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection EBSCOhost
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications ACS
American Song Alexander Street Press
Annual Reviews Annual Reviews
APA PsycArticles EBSCOhost
Archives Unbound: Holocaust Studies Gale
ArtSTOR ArtSTOR
Atla Religion with AtlaSerials EBSCOhost
Axis 360 Digital Medial Library eRead
Black Studies in Video Alexander Street Press
Black Thought and Culture Alexander Street Press
Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE) HeinOnline
Business Source Premier EBSCOhost
Chicago Tribune ProQuest
Chronicle of Higher Education Chronicle of Higher Education
CINAHL Complete EBSCOhost
Classical Music Library Alexander Street Press
Classical Scores Library Alexander Street Press
Communication and Mass Media Complete EBSCOhost
Consumer Health Complete EBSCOhost
CQ Researcher CQ Press
Credo Reference Credo
ERIC at EBSCO EBSCOhost
European Views of the Americas EBSCOhost
Feature Films for Education Infobase
Films on Demand: Master Academic Package Infobase
FMG Archival Films and Newsreels Infobase
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia EBSCOhost
Gale Case Studies Gale
Gale Directory Library Gale
Gale ebooks (GVRL) Gale
Gale Literary Sources Gale
Gale Primary Sources Gale
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Alexander Street Press
Global Issues (Gale in Context) Gale
GreenFILE EBSCOhost
Health Source: Consumer EBSCOhost
Health Source: Nursing/Academic EBSCOhost
HeinOnline Academic HeinOnline
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition Cambridge
Issues and Controversies Infobase
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice Database Ovid
JSTOR JSTOR
Kanopy Kanopy
LGBT Studies in Video Alexander Street Press
LGBTQ+ Rights HeinOnline
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA) EBSCOhost
Life Magazine Archive EBSCOhost
Literature Criticism Online Gale
MAS Ultra, School Edition EBSCOhost
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) EBSCOhost
MEDLINE (EBSCO) with full text EBSCOhost
Military and Government Collection EBSCOhost
MLA International Bibliography EBSCOhost
Music Online Alexander Street Press
Nature Nature 
Naxos Naxos
New World Cinema: Independent Features & Short, 1990- Alexander Street Press
New York Times ProQuest
Newspaper Source EBSCOhost
NexisUni Lexis-Nexis
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Gale
Nursing Education in Video Alexander Street Press
Nursing@Ovid Books Ovid books
OmniFile Fulltext Select EBSCOhost
Ovid Nursing & Health Professions Premier Ovid
Oxford Art Online Oxford
Oxford English Dictionary Oxford
Oxford Music Online Oxford
Oxford Scholarship Online Oxford
PBS Video Alexander Street Press
PhilPapers PhilPapers
Primary Search EBSCOhost
Professional Development Collection EBSCOhost
Project MUSE Project MUSE
ProQuest Global Newsstream ProQuest
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune ProQuest
Regional Business News EBSCOhost
Rehabilitation Therapy in Video Alexander Street Press
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature EBSCOhost
RKMA Market Research Reports RKMA
Sage Journals Online Sage Journals Online
Sage Knowledge Sage Knowledge
Salem Press Reference Shelf Salem
Science Science
ScienceDirect College Edition Elsevier
Slavery and Anti-Slavery Gale
Slavery in America and the World HeinOnline
SocINDEX with Full Text EBSCOhost
Sports Medicine & Exercise Science in Video Alexander Street Press
SpringerLink Journals and Ebooks SpringerLink
Teacher Reference Center EBSCOhost
Theatre in Video Alexander Street Press
Times Digital Archive 1785-2011 Gale
Wall Street Journal ProQuest
Wiley Online Library Wiley

Vendor-Specific Instructions

ABC-CLIO

  • Click on a book title, a specific chapter or a specific page within an ebook.
  • Copy the URL displayed in the address bar.

ACS

  • Click on article title.
  • Copy the URL displayed in the address bar.

Alexander Street Press

  • Select the video/recording/item you want to link.
  • Click Share at the top of the screen.
  • Copy the link listed under "Via permalink".

Annual Reviews

  • Click on article title.
  • Copy the URL displayed in the address bar.

ArtStor

  • Open the image you want to link.
  • On the right side of the screen, click Copy next to the item's URL.

CQ

  • Within a report, click on the desired section or the full report.
  • Copy the link from the address bar.

Cambridge

  • Click on a table.
  • Copy the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) of the document, which is just below the table title and citation. Do not include the “DOI:”.
  • Open the following DOI site in your browser: http://dx.doi.org. Enter the entire DOI citation in the text box provided, and then click Go. 
  • Copy the URL from the browser address bar when the article opens up.

Chronicle of Higher Education

  • While looking at the desired article, click the right arrow icon to Share, and then choose Copy Link URL.

Credo Reference

  • At the top of any article, click Share.
  • Copy the URL that appears just below Export Article and the title of the article.

EBSCOhost

  • Click on article title or book section.
  • Click on Permalink, located under Tools on the right side of the screen.
  • Copy Permalink.

Elsevier

  • Copy the URL from the browser address bar when the article opens up.

Gale

  • Click on the article/chapter/item title.
  • In the upper right corner of the screen, click Get Link.
  • Copy the URL from the popup window.

HeinOnline

  • Click on the article/chapter/item.
  • Click the chain icon at the top of the page to get a permanent link.
  • Copy the link from the popup window.

Infobase

  • Select a video. 
  • Below the video, click on Share.
  • Click on Embed/Link.
  • Copy the Record URL.
  • You can also directly embed in Blackboard:
    • Navigate to desired course and Content Area.
    • Select Build Content.
    • Select Find Films on Demand Video.
    • Search for Video, Select, add Options, and Submit.

JSTOR

  • Copy the URL listed as the “Stable URL”, just below the journal information.

Lexis-Nexis

  • From an article, click on Export Citation (located below the article title).
  • Copy the URL included in the citation (citation format does not matter).

Nature

  • Copy the URL from the browser address bar when the article opens up.

Naxos

  • Click on the album which contains the track(s) you want to link.
  • On the upper ride side of the screen, click the chain icon to Show Static URL.
  • Copy the URL from the track or album listing.

Ovid

    From an article or JBI report:
    • click on Email PDF Jumpstart, located on the right side of the screen.
    • Copy the URL listed at the top of the page that says Your Jumpstart URL is:.
  • From a book chapter: 
    • click on View in Book Reader, located on the right side of the screen.
    • Copy the URL.

Oxford University Press

  • From an article, click on Cite in the upper right corner of the screen.
  • From a citation, copy the URL (must choose Chicago style for citations in the Oxford English Dictionary).

PhilPapers

  • From the record, copy the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) of the document, located just below the journal information.
  • Open the following DOI site in your browser: http://dx.doi.org. Enter the entire DOI citation in the text box provided, and then click Go. 
  • Copy the URL from the browser address bar when the article opens up.

Project Muse

  • From an article, click on View Citation on the right side of the screen.
  • From any style citation, copy the URL.

ProQuest

  • From an article, click on Cite on the right side of the screen.
  • From any style citation, copy the URL.

RKMA

  • From the list of publications, right click on the publication you want to link to, and choose Copy Link Location/Address.

Sage Journals Online, Sage Knowledge

  • From an article, book chapter, etc. click on the DOI, located below the article information.
  • Copy URL from browser window when item loads.

Salem

  • From a book title or book segment, click Copy Permalink to this (Article, Book) to Clipboard.

Science

  • From the article, copy the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) of the document, which appears below the article title (do not include DOI:).
  • Open the following DOI site in your browser: http://dx.doi.org. Enter the entire DOI citation in the text box provided, and then click Go. 
  • Copy the URL from the browser address bar when the article opens up.

SpringerLink Journals and Books

  • Copy the URL from the browser address bar when the article/chapter opens up.

Wiley

  • Copy the URL from the browser address bar when the article/chapter opens up.