Skip to main content

URB 210: Cities: Chicago Website Resources

Chicago Neighborhood Websites

Chicago History Museum

www.chicagohistory.org

Chicago Collections Neighborhoods 

http://explore.chicagocollections.org/neighborhoods/

Chicago Community Snapshots

http://www.cmap.illinois.gov/data/metropulse/community-snapshots

Chicago Neighborhoods

http://www.choosechicago.com/neighborhoods-and-communities/

Chicago Police Clear Maps

http://gis.chicagopolice.org/

Chicago Politics from the UIC Department of Political Science

http://pols.uic.edu/political-science/chicago-politics

Chicago Public Library

http://www.chipublib.org/

Chicago Reader

http://www.chicagoreader.com/

Chicago Traveler Neighborhood Tours

http://www.chicagotraveler.com/attractions/chicago-neighborhood-tours.html

City-Data.com

http://www.city-data.com/nbmaps/neigh-Chicago-Illinois.html

The Encyclopedia of Chicago

http://www.encyclopedia.chicagohistory.org

DePaul University: Chicago Research Guide

http://libguides.depaul.edu/c.php?g=253455&p=1691306

Digital Library of Illinois and Chicago History

http://livinghistoryofillinois.com/

Dreamtown Chicago Neighborhoods

http://www.dreamtown.com/neighborhoods/chicago-neighborhoods.html

lllinois Action for Children ~ Good Census Data

http://www.actforchildren.org

Library of Congress

http://www.loc.gov/index.html

National Archives

www.archives.gov

http://www.archives.gov/chicago/

Newberry Library's Chicago Neighborhood Guide

https://www.newberry.org/chicago-neighborhood-guide

Newberry Library's Digital Resource Page

http://www.newberry.org/digital-resources

TPS Barat Primary Source Nexis: Chicago

http://primarysourcenexus.org/2013/03/primary-source-spotlight-chicago/

University of Chicago Library Guide on Chicago Census Information

http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/census

University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC): Great Cities Institute

https://greatcities.uic.edu/

University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) Imagebase

www.uic.edu/depts/ahaa/imagebase

Urban Experience in Chicago

www.uic.edu/jaddams/hull/urbanexp/

Illinois Digital Archives

http://www.idaillinois.org

Illinois State Archives

http://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/archives/home.html

Census

http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/census

http://www.census.gov

Census Quick Facts for the City of Chicago

http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/17/1714000.html

City of Chicago Census Block File Datasets (which require downloads)

http://www.cityofchicago.org/city/en/depts/doit/dataset/boundaries_-_censusblocks.html

Rob Paral Associates Census Data and Trends

http://www.robparal.com/

Primary Sources on Illinois History from a teacher at IMSA

http://staff.imsa.edu/socsci/skinner/coverpage.html

he Thrillist ~ What Neighborhood should I move to?

https://www.thrillist.com/lifestyle/chicago/chicago-moving-guide-which-chicago-neighborhood-should-i-move-to‚Äč

Zipmap.net Cook County

http://www.zipmap.net/Illinois/Cook_County/Z_Bridgeport.htm

APA

APA style was developed by the American Psychological Association. The social sciences often use APA style for documenting sources.