Rudolf G. Schade Archives and Special Collections: Archives and Special Collections

The University Archives includes non-current administrative records and a wide variety of records documenting student, faculty, and staff life. Records housed in the Archives date back to the college’s inception in 1871 and include, but are not limited to, the following:

• College administrative correspondence, 1880-1924;
• Records of College/University presidents, 1871-present;
• Publications of the College/University, including yearbooks, College/University catalogs, and student newspapers
• Photographs of events and individuals;
• Records of student activities and organizations;
• Records of administrative departments;
• Records of the Board of Trustees
• Programs, publicity, scrapbooks and memorabilia of College/University events and activities;
• Artifacts reflecting the history of the College/University.

Student parade celebrating NCA accreditation, 1934

Mission of the Rudolf G. Schade Archives

The Rudolf G. Schade Archives is the institutional memory of Elmhurst University. Founded in 1871 by the German Evangelical Church (now part of the United Church of Christ) as the Evangelical Proseminary, Elmhurst University has long been an integral part of the city of Elmhurst, Illinois. The mission of the Rudolf G. Schade Archives is to serve Elmhurst University, the surrounding community, and the United Church of Christ by identifying, preserving, organizing, and making accessible its records of enduring value.

Goals of the Rudolf G. Schade Archives

• To be a resource for the faculty and students of Elmhurst University;
• To provide administrative support to University staff;
• To document the heritage of the University and its role in the history of the liberal German religious community in the Midwest;
• To document the changing face of the University, particularly as it has become more secular in nature;
• To provide the people of Elmhurst with information on the history of the University that has been an important part of the community since 1871.

 In naming the Archives, Elmhurst University remembers the life of Rudolf G. Schade (1908-2000), professor of history, archivist, and great friend to Elmhurst University. He was regarded by many as “the greatest institutional presence the College has ever known.”

Steeple construction on Hammerschmidt Chapel, 1959

• University Archives
• Niebuhr Materials
• Special Collections

The Rudolf G. Schade Archives, located on the lower level of the A.C. Buehler Library, is open to faculty, students, staff, and other researchers by appointment only. 

To make an appointment, or for any questions regarding the University Archives, please contact:

If requesting information and/or an appointment by email, please include the following information:

• Name
• Relationship to the University (faculty/staff, student, alumni, other)
  • If alumni, dates attended or graduated
• Email address, mailing address if requesting information to be sent
• Topic of research question
• If the information provided by the Archives is to be used in a publication, please indicate in the email.