Skip to main content

Rudolf G. Schade Archives and Special Collections: Usage Policies

User Community and Physical Access

The Rudolf G. Schade Archives at Elmhurst University is open to faculty, students, staff, and other researchers by request.  All researchers must follow specific procedures ensuring preservation of records, in order to retain use privileges.

A.  User Community and Physical Access

The Archives is accessible through the University Archivist by appointment only. Researchers must adhere to the following conditions of use:

  • All researchers using archival materials must work under the direct supervision of the Archivist or a member of the Library staff. Under no circumstances will researchers work alone.
  • Library staff will retrieve archival materials from the Archives and reshelve them when researchers have finished.
  • Researchers, whether faculty, students, staff from other departments, or others, may not remove materials from the Archives at any time. Researchers will register and provide identification via the Researcher Information form before using materials. A copy of the Archives Reference/Access policy will be available to all researchers.
  • Researchers will store briefcases, coats, and other large items in a designated space in the Archives.
  • Researchers may use one document box at a time and may remove one file folder at a time from the box; they must take care to retain the order of papers within the file folder.
  • Researchers will handle papers with care, being careful not to lean on or write on top of archival materials. Researchers will handle photographs and other fragile materials with cotton gloves, which will be provided.
  • Researchers may use laptop computers for note-taking in a properly supervised area. If researchers take handwritten notes, they must use pencils.
  • Researchers may not use cameras or cell phones in the Archives without express permission from the Archivist. 

Reproduction of Documents and Visual Materials

  • Photocopying and/or scanning will be at the discretion of the Archivist and will depend in part on condition of the documents to be copied.
  • Users will reimburse the Archives for the costs of reproducing photographs, films, and video and audio tapes.
  • In all cases, researchers will credit the Archives as the source for visual materials reproduced and used in publications, whether paper or electronic.

Copyright

Elmhurst College holds copyright to:

  • All records created by University employees while working on University business.
  • Historical materials donated by individuals who created or owned copyright to the materials they donated and then transferred the copyright to the University in a Deed of Gift agreement. 

Elmhurst College does not own copyright to:

  • Materials created by individuals not belonging to or employed by Elmhurst University, unless copyright to these materials is formally transferred to the University.
  • Letters from outside individuals that might appear in University records or records donated to the University. Under the October 1998 revision of the United States Copyright law, unpublished materials remain the intellectual property of the creator or the estate of the creator until 70 years after his/her death or January 1, 2003, whichever comes last. 

It is the researcher’s responsibility to obtain permission from the copyright holder before publishing any material from the Archives. Researchers must complete the Materials Release form to request use of materials for which Elmhurst University holds copyright.

Citation and Credit for Reproduction

  • The Archives will provide researchers with the preferred citation for materials quoted from its holdings. The citation should include the name of the collection, the collection number, physical location of the quote, as well as Elmhurst University.
     
    • Example: 
      • Daniel Irion Records, #2001-1, Box 2, Folder 1, Rudolf G. Schade Archives, Elmhurst University
         
  • In all cases, researchers must credit the Archives as the source for visual materials reproduced and used in publications, documentaries, business interiors, etc. The approved credit line is: Courtesy Rudolf G. Schade Archives, Elmhurst University.