A.C. Buehler Library: CSD 507 Research Methods: Reference Sources & Articles

ASHA Resources

From the American Speech-Language-Hearing-Association (ASHA)

https://asha.org/
Perspectives of the ASHA Special Interest Groups (we have full text 2018-date)

ASHA Journals available in EBSCOhost:

Other ASHA information pages:

Background Research

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online collection of over 1000 reference books, covering a wide range of subjects, from art to technology. Credo Reference also includes a selection of specialized reference books from Sage Publishing.

The following resources are intended to help you begin to research a topic. You will use most of these as reference works, or to find background information on your topic. They can also be helpful in terms of exploring the possibilities for research questions.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of hundreds of print reference titles and series, allowing you access to key reference sources without having to be in the library. Includes a variety of topics, and all titles in the Scribner's and Twayne's author series. Most Gale eBook titles can also be accessed through I-Share.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
A variety of encyclopedias and other reference materials from SAGE publications.
Bluejay Search This link opens in a new window

Find Articles

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Provides indexing for more than 5,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Searchable cited references for nearly 1,500 journals are also included.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,470 journals. Coverage back to 1949 with fulltext back to 1965, includes searchable citations to more than 4800 current journals.
Ovid Nursing and Health Professions Premier Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 70 top journals used by nurses and health professionals around the world. Includes titles such as AJN, JONA, Advances in Nursing Science, and Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A free, comprehensive, medical journal literature database from the National Library of Medicine (NLM). This link includes a button that will search Elmhurst University resources.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A search engine to broadly search for scholarly literature from one platform across many disciplines and sources.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is a key source for education information. Allows users to access articles from scholarly as well as professional periodicals, in addition to ERIC documents back to 1966 - more than 1.4 million records in all. Many articles are available in full-text, and there are links to full-text ERIC documents available.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. There are 2,500 titles indexed, and linked full text is available.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts from over 12,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from 8,500 titles, including more than 7,300 that are peer-reviewed. Almost every topic of study is covered. The database is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from more than 1,400 journals.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences and social sciences and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Elmhurst's subscription includes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index, both with coverage from 1998-present.

Find Systematic Reviews & Meta-Analyses

About systematic reviews (from the Cochrane website): "A systematic review identifies an intervention for a specific disease or other problem in health care, and determines whether or not this intervention works. To do this authors locate, appraise and synthesize evidence from as many relevant scientific studies as possible. They summarize conclusions about effectiveness, and provide a unique collation of the known evidence on a given topic, so that others can easily review the primary studies for any intervention."

ASHA - N-CEP Evidence-Based Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Library
Includes freely available summaries of reviews of evidence on a variety of medical topics.
Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic Reviews
Campbell Systematic Reviews is an open access journal prepared under the editorial control of the Campbell Collaboration. The journal publishes systematic reviews, evidence and gap maps, and methods research papers.

Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice Database This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.

speechBITE: Speech Pathology for Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy
speechBITE is a database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice.
What Works Clearinghouse
The What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) reviews the existing research on different programs, products, practices, and policies in education.

But how do I get the full text articles?

If you have a DOI, scroll down on the Citation Linker page and enter it instead of all of the other citation information.

Citation Linker - Bluejay Search
Elmhurst University's Citation Linker - Bluejay Search allows you to input a citation, DOI or PMID and retrieve the item if it is available in full text.
Finding Full Text from References AND MyEBSCOhost
Short video tutorial on how to hunt down articles from a reference list, and information about setting up a MyEBSCOhost account to help organize article citations.