A.C. Buehler Library: Conversations on Black Identity and White Supremacy in America: Research Resources

General Reference Resources

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of hundreds of print reference titles and series, allowing you access to key reference sources without having to be in the library. Includes a variety of topics, and all titles in the Scribner's and Twayne's author series. Most Gale eBook titles can also be accessed through I-Share.

In the Gale Virtual Reference Library, look particularly for entries in these e-books:

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues
Encyclopedia of Education
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Immigration and Multiculturalism: Essential Primary Sources
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Minorities: Race and Ethnicity in Americ

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online collection of over 1000 reference books, covering a wide range of subjects, from art to technology. Credo Reference also includes a selection of specialized reference books from Sage Publishing.

In Credo, look specifically for entries in these e-books:

Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Encyclopedia of African American Education
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society
Encyclopedia of Social Problems
Key Concepts in Race and Ethnicity
Racism in the United States

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers current and controversial issues from 1991-present. In-depth reports provide summaries, analysis, and links to additional resources.

In CQ Researcher, consider the following terms:

Racial Conflict
Race and Ethnicity
Corporate Activism
Crime and Police Conduct
Global Protest Movement

Newspapers

Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Gets you to the full text (excluding advertisements) from 1985-date. To see the full text of the Tribune from 1849-1990, go to ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Allows you to access the full text from 1980-present. For information on setting up a free account to NYTimes.com, see this page: https://library.elmhurst.edu/newssources
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Full text access to current and past issues (through 1995) of the Chronicle of Higher Education, source of news for people in academe.

Streaming Media

Films on Demand: Master Academic Package This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 35,000 academic videos from a variety of producers, including A&E, PBS, BBC Learning, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HBO Documentary Films, PBS NewsHour, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.
Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
This outstanding collection of over 650 feature films focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles for educational instructional purposes, including dramas,literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, Academy Award® winners, and more.
FMG Archival Films and Newsreels This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 4600 archival films and newsreels spanning the history of moving images.
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts 1990-present This link opens in a new window
A collection of approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and the Global Films Initiative, along with some fifty award-winning shorts. All the films were shown at major festivals. Many were nominated and collectively, the films in the collection have won more than 1,000 awards.

Books & Ebooks

Bluejay Search This link opens in a new window
EBSCO ebooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text electronic books available to Elmhurst University students, faculty, and staff; includes a subscription to more than 118,000 titles in the Academic Core collection. EBSCO ebook titles can also be accessed through I-Share.
EBL ebooks (CARLI) This link opens in a new window
This project through the CARLI consortium includes more than 29,000 humanities and social science ebook titles from select publishers. It offers online and offline access, read aloud functionality, and usability for portable devices.
Ebook Central ebook collection This link opens in a new window
A collection ebooks from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas. Elmhurst University has access to the Academic Complete, University Press, and Reference ebook collections.
eRead Illinois This link opens in a new window
This ebook collection includes several thousand fiction and non-fiction items and audiobooks. eRead Illinois ebooks offer offline access and usability for portable devices. Requires 14-digit Jaypass barcode number.

Electronic Books Available through our catalog. Please see the eBooks page of this guide for links to full text books online.

Resources

Ask a librarian if you need help finding a citation, or if you are unsure of when to cite.

Make an appointment with a writing tutor from the Learning Center or ask your professor for help formatting citations properly.

Source Evaluation and Credibility
Elmhurst's guide to identifying journal types and evaluating websites.
Purdue OWL
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) from Purdue University helps with writing and citing in APA and MLA formats.
Annotated Bibliographies (Purdue OWL)
From the Purdue OWL; see format and examples
Purdue OWL: Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Quoting
EndNote Web
EndNote is a commercial reference management software package, used to manage bibliographies and references when writing papers and articles. Many databases allow you to export citations directly to EndNote. Users need to set up a free account to store their references.
Mendeley
Free reference manager and PDF organizer.
MyBib Blog with nice examples of APA 7th edition changes
TypeCite
In partnership with JSTOR,TypeCite is an accessible citation tool that’s free and easy to use.

Databases for Articles, Book Chapters, Papers & Reports

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts from over 12,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from 8,500 titles, including more than 7,300 that are peer-reviewed. Almost every topic of study is covered. The database is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from more than 1,400 journals.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
Covers a variety of areas pertaining to communication and mass media. The product of a merging of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, CMMC contains the full text of over 500 titles in addition to citations to several other types of documents and searchable cited references.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is a key source for education information. Allows users to access articles from scholarly as well as professional periodicals, in addition to ERIC documents back to 1966 - more than 1.4 million records in all. Many articles are available in full-text, and there are links to full-text ERIC documents available.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An electronic archive of journal titles in a variety of disciplines, often going back to the first issue of a journal's existence. In addition, a collection of over 1.8 million digital images of paintings, photos, architectural works, sculptures, and design pieces from around the world from all time periods.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database This link opens in a new window
Contains references to over 220,000 articles and reports on criminal justice topics; includes a few links to full text documents.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
An online library of over 325 journals from 120 scholarly publishers. Some full text dates back to 1993. Journals in this collection cover primarily the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 700 peer-reviewed journals in full text, covering such subject areas as business, the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2.3 million records as well as abstracts for over 2,500 journals, as well as conference papers, books, and monographs. Includes almost 900 full text journals, hundreds of books, thousands of conference papers, and 25,000 author profiles. Topics covered include urban studies, anthropology, criminology and criminal justice, ethnic and racial studies, marriage and the family, social psychology, and sociological theory.

APA

Purdue OWL: APA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL).

APA style was developed by the American Psychological Association. The social sciences often use APA style for documenting sources.

APA Style and Grammar Guidelines
By the American Psychological Association.
APA Style Blog
Official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition.
**APA Citation Guide
By University of Maryland
DOIs and URLs
The Most Significant Changes Between APA 6 and APA 7
TypeCite - APA
A free citation generator that also provides helpful information about citation using APA format.
APA Format for Students and Researchers
Provided by EasyBib

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) by American Psychological Association
Call Number: R 808.06615 P976 2020
ISBN: 9781433832161
Publication Date: 2019
Located by the reference desk.

Conversations on Black Identity and White Supremacy in America: Research Resources

More Resources

In addition to the resources listed, below is a link to faculty-generated reading list of books, articles and multi-media resources that focus on the intersectionality of race and gender. https://library.elmhurst.edu/racegenderpolitics

General Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society

Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society

Encyclopedia of Social Problems

Key Concepts in Race and Ethnicity