HIS 322 Revolutionary America: Primary Sources

One of the best-known newspapers in the world, the Times (London) is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication. The Times Digital Archive includes more than 11.8 million articles covering global topics, reflecting public opinion over 225 years, 1785-2011.

EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.

The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.

A definitive source of quantitative data about American history. Includes hundreds of manipulable tables and also contains essays about historical trends.

An electronic archive of journal titles in a variety of disciplines, often going back to the first issue of a journal's existence. In addition, a collection of over 1.8 million digital images of paintings, photos, architectural works, sculptures, and design pieces from around the world from all time periods.

Includes more than 5 million pages about the history of slavery, collected from books, pamphlets, newspapers, legal documents, court records, manuscripts, periodicals, monographs and maps. Also provides research guides, subject outlines and scholarly essays on slavery to help researchers learn more about archival collections in these areas. There are four main areas of this collection: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; The Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, The Institution of Slavery; and The Age of Emancipation.

This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery into the 20th century. It also includes pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it --- and legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. Additionally, word searchable access is available to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880.