A.C. Buehler Library: ENG 314 Children's Literature: Home

Welcome to the ENG 314 Course Page

To complete your research for your author study, you need to identify books by your author and reference sources, books, and journal articles about your author. To find the sources, follow the six steps listed below.

Step 1

Consult Literary Resource Center. Be sure to consult all of the sections by clicking on all available tabs.

Then, check the following print reference sources.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Combines a variety of key literary resources, including MLA International Bibliography, Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Step 2

Check Literary Index to identify print reference sources with information about author.

Literary Index This link opens in a new window
An online index to the entirety of the approximately 130 print Gale products, including Contemporary Literary Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Short Story Criticism. There are nearly 150,000 authors and 200,000 titles indexed.

Children's Literature Review
R028.52 C536L
Something About the Author
R028.52 S696

Step 3

Check Academic Search Complete and ERIC for more journal articles.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts from over 13,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from nearly 9,100 titles. Almost every topic of study is covered. The databases is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from nearly 8,000 peer-reviewed journals.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is a key source for education information. Allows users to access articles from scholarly as well as professional periodicals, in addition to ERIC documents, more than 1.4 million records in all. Many articles are available in full-text, and there are links to full-text ERIC documents available

Step 4

Check the I-share Catalog for books. Use the author's name in quotes in the Any Word Anywhere field (e.g. "Maurice Sendak").

Bluejay Search This link opens in a new window

Step 5

Check Worldcat for your author's most recent books. Enter your author's name in the author field and then sort the results by publication date in descending order.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A combined catalog of more than 57,000,000 records worldwide.

Step 6

Do a Google search on your author's name to identify additional web resources.

Google
Search the world's information, including webpages, images, videos and more.

Subject Guide

Carolyn Ciesla

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Honors, Learning Center