NRS 303 Nursing Resources: Nursing Databases & Books

Provides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Provides indexing for more than 5,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Searchable cited references for nearly 1,500 journals are also included.

Emcare, produced by Elsevier, covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine. Emcare includes unique content not found in other nursing and allied health databases and features more than a thousand journals not covered by Elsevier’s Embase database.

Over 70 top journals used by nurses and health professionals around the world. Includes titles such as AJN, JONA, Advances in Nursing Science, and Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise.

A free, comprehensive, medical journal literature database from the National Library of Medicine (NLM). This link includes a button that will search Elmhurst University resources.

Contains selective full-text access to over 500 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.

To look for research articles, search for the following terms as Subject. You may use multiple terms by separating them with the OR operator:
randomized controlled trials
quantitative research
research

A collection of 38 electronic book titles in nursing, from LWW publishers. All titles are also included in the I-Share catalog.

The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP database is a comprehensive range of resources including over 3,000 records across seven publication types:

Evidence Summaries: Literature reviews that summarize existing international literature on common healthcare interventions and activities
Evidence-Based Recommended Practices: Database of procedures that describe and/or recommend practice on various clinical topics
Best Practice Information Sheets: Series of information guideline sheets produced specifically for practicing health professionals
Systematic Reviews: Comprehensive systematic reviews of international research literature completed by trained JBI reviewers
Consumer Information Sheets: Standardized summaries designed just for consumers of healthcare (patients, clients, and care providers)
Systematic Review Protocols: Developed by the Collaborating Centers of JBI, which are made up of international experts from over 40 countries

A free, comprehensive, medical journal literature database from the National Library of Medicine (NLM). This link includes a button that will search Elmhurst University resources.

Covers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. There are 2,500 titles indexed, and linked full text is available.

Click on the "Advanced Search" tab and scroll down to "Search Options" to set the following parameters:
Under the "Methodology" menu select "Empirical Research" and/or "Mathematical Model". (NOTE: Systematic Reviews can also be found here)

Provides abstracts from over 12,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from 8,500 titles, including more than 7,300 that are peer-reviewed. Almost every topic of study is covered. The database is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from more than 1,400 journals.

A collection of full-text electronic books available to Elmhurst University students, faculty, and staff; includes a subscription to more than 118,000 titles in the Academic Core collection. EBSCO ebook titles can also be accessed through I-Share.

A partnership with Medcom-Trainex, Nursing Education in Video gives faculty and students anywhere-anytime access to Medcom’s highly regarded library of full-length training programs—online in streaming video. Medcom videos have won more than 50 major awards for excellence, including the prestigious Emmy award. Nursing Education in Video covers the fundamentals of nurse training and advanced topics.

Provides indexing to the entire Elsevier library. In addition, there is access to full-text articles in over 350 psychology and social science journals for the most recent 5 years. Besides listing articles that are already in print, ScienceDirect also lists articles that are about to be published.

A full-text database providing access to easily understandable health and medical information found in hundreds of health reference books, more than 550 journals and magazines, images, diagrams, animations and video. It covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, and evidence-based health reports.

Features searchable full text for over 80 journals on consumer health topics, including food science and nutrition, child care and sports medicine. Also includes hundreds of health topic pamphlets, health reference books and clinical reference health system reports.

The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database.

A collection of over 2200 journals in all disciplines, with over 1650 in full text back to 1997; AND over 8000 fulltext ebooks (medicine from 2005-2010, and all STEM areas from 2014).

Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences and social sciences and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Elmhurst's subscription includes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index, both with coverage from 1998-present.