A free, comprehensive, medical journal literature database from the National Library of Medicine (NLM). This link includes the Elmhurst College Find it! button, which will help users locate resources available through the College. PubMed is available independent of Elmhurst College-based subscriptions. It includes multiple levels of evidence-based literature, and is an essential resource for Nursing research.
To see additional filters in PubMed, you must first perform a search. In the search results page, you'll see these limiters (more are available than what's visible). Useful categories to limit by would be:
To see full text availability, click on an article citation and look for the Elmhurst College "FindIt" button in the upper right-hand corner. This button will open another screen and attempt to direct you to the Elmhurst-owned full-text article, if we have it. Also, the "LinkOut" feature can link to Elmhurst resources (but this feature does not automatically link you to the full-text; Elmhurst has to subscribe to the database).
National Guideline Clearinghouse
The U.S. Department of Heath and Human Service's comprehensive public database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. There are links provided for full-text versions of guidelines, where available.
To search for research articles published in nursing journals, scroll down to the "Limit your results" section, and consider the following limiters:
To look for research articles, you can add the following search phrases in a search box:
Search for these terms as a subject using the drop down menu to the right of the search boxes. You can use multiple terms by separating them with the OR operator (in the box to the left of the search boxes).
Click on the "Advanced Search" tab and scroll down to "Search Options"- set the following parameters:
Click on the "Advanced Search" tab and scroll down to "Search Options"- set the following parameters:
Although you can't specifically search for research articles, you'll want to limit your search search for full-text items we have access to. Limit your search on the Search tab to "Subscribed journals."
If you have a journal or book citation and you want to see if we have the full-text in print or electronic versions, click on the Citation Linker.
On this screen, enter as much of the citation infomation as you can. If we have the book or journal in our collection, you'll be given a link to that item.
Note- if we do not have the article, you can always order it via interlibrary loan.