A.C. Buehler Library: ABSN Orientation and Nursing Resources: Nursing Databases & Books

Find Professional Nursing Articles (contain empirical research)

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Provides indexing for more than 5,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Searchable cited references for nearly 1,500 journals are also included.

To search for research articles published in nursing journals, scroll down to the "Limit your results" section, and consider the following limiters:

Published Date
English Language
Peer Reviewed
Research Article
Evidence-Based Practice
Any Author is a Nurse
Journal Subset: Nursing
Geographic Subset: USA

More Resources

Ovid Nursing and Health Professions Premier Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 70 top journals used by nurses and health professionals around the world. Includes titles such as AJN, JONA, Advances in Nursing Science, and Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise.
Emcare This link opens in a new window
Emcare, produced by Elsevier, covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine. Emcare includes unique content not found in other nursing and allied health databases and features more than a thousand journals not covered by Elsevier’s Embase database.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A free, comprehensive, medical journal literature database from the National Library of Medicine (NLM). This link includes a button that will search Elmhurst University resources.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Contains selective full-text access to over 500 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Nursing@Ovid Books Extended Core Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of 38 electronic book titles in nursing, from LWW publishers. All titles are also included in the I-Share catalog.

Find Systematic Reviews and Evidence-Based Literature

Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice Database This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A free, comprehensive, medical journal literature database from the National Library of Medicine (NLM). This link includes a button that will search Elmhurst University resources.

National Guideline Clearinghouse
Provided by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services and Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

Other Useful Resources

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. There are 2,500 titles indexed, and linked full text is available.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts from over 12,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from 8,500 titles, including more than 7,300 that are peer-reviewed. Almost every topic of study is covered. The database is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from more than 1,400 journals.
EBSCO ebooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text electronic books available to Elmhurst University students, faculty, and staff; includes a subscription to more than 118,000 titles in the Academic Core collection. EBSCO ebook titles can also be accessed through I-Share.
Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window
A partnership with Medcom-Trainex, Nursing Education in Video gives faculty and students anywhere-anytime access to Medcom’s highly regarded library of full-length training programs—online in streaming video. Medcom videos have won more than 50 major awards for excellence, including the prestigious Emmy award. Nursing Education in Video covers the fundamentals of nurse training and advanced topics.
ScienceDirect College Edition (Social and Behavioral Sciences) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to the entire Elsevier library. In addition, there is access to full-text articles in over 350 psychology and social science journals for the most recent 5 years. Besides listing articles that are already in print, ScienceDirect also lists articles that are about to be published.

Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text database providing access to easily understandable health and medical information found in hundreds of health reference books, more than 550 journals and magazines, images, diagrams, animations and video. It covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, and evidence-based health reports.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Features searchable full text for over 80 journals on consumer health topics, including food science and nutrition, child care and sports medicine. Also includes hundreds of health topic pamphlets, health reference books and clinical reference health system reports.
MEDLINE (Thomson-Reuters) This link opens in a new window
The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database.
SpringerLink Journals and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 2200 journals in all disciplines, with over 1650 in full text back to 1997; AND over 8000 fulltext ebooks (medicine from 2005-2010, and all STEM areas from 2014).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences and social sciences and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Elmhurst's subscription includes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index, both with coverage from 1998-present.

Find Books

Bluejay Search This link opens in a new window

Elmhurst I-Share Catalog

The catalog of the A.C. Buehler Library. Use this resource to find books, ebooks, journal titles, movies, and music owned by Elmhurst College, and information about items located in over 80 academic and research libraries in Illinois.

Citation Linker

If you have a journal or book citation and you want to see if we have the full-text in print or electronic versions, use the CitationLinker.

Enter as much of the citation infomation as you can. If we have the item in our collection, you will be given a link to it.

If we do not have the article, you can always order it via Interlibary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form
Use this form to request articles not available through the A.C. Buehler library's databases.
Interlibrary Loan Book Request Form
Use this form to request books not available through the I-Share statewide catalog.