A.C. Buehler Library: GIS Geospatial Program's Resources: Resources For GIS Data

Resources to Find GIS Data

USGS Geospatial Data Sources https://www.usgs.gov/educational-resources/usgs-geospatial-data-sources

GIS data resources and datasets related to various natural events, such as volcanoes, earthquakes, wind, ocean data, etc.

The USGS serves the Nation by providing reliable scientific information to describe and understand the Earth; minimize loss of life and property from natural disasters; manage water, biological, energy, and mineral resources; and enhance and protect our quality of life.

David Rumsey Map Collection https://www.davidrumsey.com/

Considered one of the best sites for historical maps (digitized rasters) that can be added as layers in GIS

Esri’s Living Atlas of the World https://livingatlas.arcgis.com/en/home/

Considered one of the best curated resources for geospatial data sets, includes both GIS, satellite imagery, and real-time data

Free GIS Data https://freegisdata.rtwilson.com/

Extensive list of links to online GIS and RS datasets

GIS and Public Health at CDC - Geospatial Data Resources https://www.cdc.gov/gis/geo-spatial-data.html

GIS Resources specific to Center for Disease Control and Public Health

GIS Data https://researchguides.dartmouth.edu/gisdata/usdata

List of and llinks to GIS resources, provided by Dartmouth College

GIS Geography https://gisgeography.com/best-free-gis-data-sources-raster-vector/

10 Free GIS Data Sources: Best Global Raster and Vector Datasets

GIS Lounge https://www.gislounge.com/data-and-gis-resources/

Basic definitions of terminology related to GIS and RS; links to various data sets for both cultural and physical geography

Illinois Geospatial Data Clearinghouse https://clearinghouse.isgs.illinois.edu/

GIS and aerial imagery datasets for the state of Illinois – landcover, hydrology, etc. – includes lidar sets of elevation data for the state; google your state for a “GIS Clearinghouse” for similar data sets

National Hurricane Center and Central Pacific Hurricane Center https://www.nhc.noaa.g ov/index.shtml?epac

A site maintained by NOAA with real-time hurricane data

NOAA – National Ocean Service https://oceanservice.noaa.gov/dataexpl

A comprehensive geospatial metadata inventory for the public to search and find NOS geospatial data resources

Even More Data Sources

Here are some selected web sources for data. Not every topic will need data, and not all data is findable here. If you need help exploring other sources for data or information, email Jen.

Census Bureau
United States' Census Bureau.
US Census Bureau - Explore Census Data
Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.On March 31, 2020, American FactFinder was decommissioned and is no longer available.
To do an address search to find the geography for a community, use the Census Bureau’s Geocoder.
Census Bureau Economic Data
Includes links to the Economic Census (latest ed is 2012), monthly/quarterly national economic indicators, business patterns, retail and wholesale trade statistics.
International Statistical Agencies
This link is a list of links to statistical information from other countries. Not all of it is in English.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
*U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
This site is your source for GDP, economic growth, etc. There are also tools for tracking change.

CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
A Central Intelligence Agency publication providing country information: background, geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, transnational issues, and maps. Also see World Factbook in Credo Reference in order to compare data from different countries.

General Social Survey
The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest.
Human Development Reports
Statistical data on countries throughout the world, compiled by the United Nations Development Programme.
ICPSR
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Not all of it is available for free. There is also a citation tool which allows you to take a look for articles that have used data from ICPSR.
Many Eyes Project
"An experiment brought to you by IBM Research and the IBM Cognos software group." Collects many types of data, can be searched, has some interesting data visualization tools.
Penn World Table
This is a complicated tool to use, but has lots of data on population, GDP, consumption, etc, from 1951-2004. Choose the data link and select your country and the variables you want. It generates a table (can be in .csv form which Excel will open). If you click on the category titles it will tell you more about what they mean and give you the option of opening a pdf with the PWT manual.
World Development Indicators
UNData
A search portal for access to a variety of United Nations data sources.
United Nations Statistics Division
The UNSD compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develops standards and norms for statistical activities, and supports countries’ efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.
Europa
The web portal for the European Union.
NCJRS Abstracts Database
Contains references to over 200,000 articles and reports on criminal justice topics; includes a few links to full text documents.
Polling Report
An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion.
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan think tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
Population Reference Bureau
Data for many countries on population, health, and the environment.
Public Agenda
Public Agenda is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that helps diverse leaders and citizens navigate divisive, complex issues and work together to find solutions
Gallup
Gallup delivers forward-thinking research, analytics, and advice to help leaders solve their most pressing problems. Not everything here is free, but sometimes you can track Gallup results through other sources.

Historic Statistics of the United Staes

A definitive source of quantitative data about American history. Includes hundreds of manipulable tables and also contains essays about historical trends.
Frequently Used Sites Related to U.S. Federal Government Information
Government Information from the UIC Library
University of Chicago Government Docs Collection Guide
Government and Geographic Information and Data Services

Northwestern has an extensive collection of Federal, State, local and international government documents (as well as a very swell map collection).