A.C. Buehler Library: CSD 205 Clinical Phonetics: Library Resources for Research

Finding Books & Media

Bluejay Search This link opens in a new window

We have many useful books on linguistics, phonetics and cultures. Use the library catalog to find useful resources.

Some suggested Search Terms to use when searching Elmhurst Library Catalog:

English language Dialects United States
{language name} Phonology
Americanisms
African Americans Language
Sociolinguistics
Linguistic minorities

Reference Databases

These databases have information on countries of origin for language group speakers, culture of language speakers, demographic information and some basic phonetics-related information.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online collection of over 1000 reference books, covering a wide range of subjects, from art to technology. Credo Reference also includes a selection of specialized reference books from Sage Publishing.

How We Talk: American Regional English Today by Allan A. Metcalf
ISBN: 0618043632
Publication Date: 2000
This is an e-book in the Credo Reference database that's helpful with American dialects.
Dictionary of Languages by Andrew Dalby
ISBN: 9780713678413
Publication Date: 2006

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of hundreds of print reference titles and series, allowing you access to key reference sources without having to be in the library. Includes a variety of topics, and all titles in the Scribner's and Twayne's author series. Most Gale eBook titles can also be accessed through I-Share.

Demographic Information

Journal Articles

For the assignment, you will be looking for articles that add to the information you are gathering about language speakers and communities. These databases are places to look.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Provides indexing for more than 5,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Searchable cited references for nearly 1,500 journals are also included.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
Covers a variety of areas pertaining to communication and mass media. The product of a merging of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, CMMC contains the full text of over 500 titles in addition to citations to several other types of documents and searchable cited references.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts from over 12,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from 8,500 titles, including more than 7,300 that are peer-reviewed. Almost every topic of study is covered. The database is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from more than 1,400 journals.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 700 peer-reviewed journals in full text, covering such subject areas as business, the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.