A.C. Buehler Library: EU STEM Academy Research Guide: Start Generally

In the Beginning....

There are lots of different ways of starting the process of doing research.

One place to start is with General Resources or with Newspapers and Magazines.

General Resources are encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and other reference sources that give you an overview or broad picture of your topic.
Newspapers and Magazines will give you a good, general introduction to a topic or issue.

You should consider starting your research process generally if:

You are starting research on an unfamiliar topic
You need some background information on your topic
You find "holes" in your information as you do other research and want to fill them in

General Resources in the A.C. Buehler Library

Credo Reference
An online collection of over 1000 reference books, covering a wide range of subjects, from art to technology. Credo Reference also includes a selection of specialized reference books from Sage Publishing.
Gale eBooks
Contains the full-text of hundreds of print reference titles and series, allowing you access to key reference sources without having to be in the library. Includes a variety of topics, and all titles in the Scribner's and Twayne's author series. Most Gale eBook titles can also be accessed through I-Share.
Sage Knowledge
A variety of encyclopedias and other reference materials from SAGE publications.

Using the Discovery System to Find LOTS of stuff

Bluejay Search
Welcome to Elmhurst's library catalog, Bluejay Search! Search for physical books and videos, electronic books, and streaming audio and video; or expand your search to more than 90 other research and academic libraries in Illinois.

You can find over 350,000 e-books, print books, Newspapers articles, DVD's, streaming videos, and scholarly and popular journals artcles from all disciplines through Bluejay Search.