Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EU STEM Academy Research Guide: Journal Articles

Using Library Databases

Searching in databases also follows the General-to-Specific idea. You want to try your first set of searches in a general database, like Academic Search Complete, in order to get a feel for what's out there. Then, once you have a better grasp on what you are looking for, you can use more subject specific database sources.

If you get lost or aren't sure where to look, ask Jen at jenniferp@elmhurst.edu!

Social Science Databases

These databases contain scholarly and professional literature in a wide range of social science topics--mass media, sociology, psychology, criminal justice.

Health Science Databases

Use these databases to search for scholarly and professional literature on topics related to medicine, nursing or kinesiology.

General Databases

These databases are good sources for a wide variety of popular and scholarly articles on a wide range of topics. This makes them a good place to start your search.

Subject-Specific Databases

Because you are creating an argument based issues paper, you may need to explore some subject- or discipline- specific resources. The rest of this page has databases organized by subject areas. Try a few that relate to your topic. If you need help figuring out the best approach, ask Jen or at the Reference Desk.

Biology & Chemistry Databases

Use these databases to search for scholarly and professional information on a variety of science and science-related topics.

Math Databases