A.C. Buehler Library: EDU 104 Prof. Elliot, Cultural Foundations of Education: General Resources

Library Databases

ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC is a key source for education information. Allows users to access articles from scholarly as well as professional periodicals, in addition to ERIC documents back to 1966 - more than 1.4 million records in all. Many articles are available in full-text, and there are links to full-text ERIC documents available.
Academic Search Complete
Provides abstracts from over 12,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from 8,500 titles, including more than 7,300 that are peer-reviewed. Almost every topic of study is covered. The database is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from more than 1,400 journals.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing for over 280 of the most popular education trade journals. Linked full text is available.
Business Source Premier
Contains full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes other full text information such as: country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch; detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies; and market research reports, industry reports, and SWOT analyses.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, provides full text of articles from over 500 peer-reviewed journals and 200 educational reports.
OmniFile Full Text Select
OmniFile Full Text Select Edition is a multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing full text articles, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts. Coverage of more than 3100 publications goes back to 1994.
JSTOR
An electronic archive of journal titles in a variety of disciplines, often going back to the first issue of a journal's existence. In addition, a collection of over 1.8 million digital images of paintings, photos, architectural works, sculptures, and design pieces from around the world from all time periods.
Sage Journals Online
A collection of over 700 peer-reviewed journals in full text, covering such subject areas as business, the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.

Potential Topic Ideas

· Ethnic Studies in Schools

· Bans on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Education

· Model Minority Myth

· Tracking

· Diverse Representations in Curriculum

· Native Americans in Schools

· Critical Race Theory in Education

· Latino/x Civil Rights Movement

· School Segregation

· Black Lives Matter Movement

· Immigrant Education

· Discrimination and English Language Learners

· School to Prison Pipeline

· Resource Officers in Schools

· Islamophobia in Education

- Hip Hop Pedagogy

Bluejay Search our Online Catalog

Bluejay Search
Welcome to Elmhurst's library catalog, Bluejay Search! Search for physical books and videos, electronic books, and streaming audio and video; or expand your search to more than 90 other research and academic libraries in Illinois.

Sample Library of Congress Subject Headings:

Discrimination in education
Discrimination in education - Law and legislation- United States
English Language--Study and teaching
Second language acquisition
Multicultural education
Ability grouping in education
Racism
Racial segregation
Segregation in education
Minority group students

Online Reference Sources

Credo Reference
An online collection of over 1000 reference books, covering a wide range of subjects, from art to technology. Credo Reference also includes a selection of specialized reference books from Sage Publishing.

In Credo, look specifically for entries in these e-books:

Encyclopedia of African American Education
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education
Encyclopedia of Special Education
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations in Education
Gender and Education: an Encyclopedia
Key Concepts in Education
Praeger Handbook of Latino Education in the U.S.

Issues & Controversies
Issues & Controversies offers extensive, exclusive, and objective analysis of hundreds of today’s hot topics and conflicts by presenting the key facts, arguments, history, and current context of today’s most important issues, along with a wealth of primary sources, videos, and relevant media coverage, making it an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments. Each article presents both sides of an issue clearly and without bias in order to inspire thought-provoking discussions.
Sage Knowledge
A variety of encyclopedias and other reference materials from SAGE publications.