NRS 503: Applied Research for Clinical Leadership: Databases

Provides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Provides indexing for more than 5,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Searchable cited references for nearly 1,500 journals are also included.

Over 70 top journals used by nurses and health professionals around the world. Includes titles such as AJN, JONA, Advances in Nursing Science, and Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise.

Over 70 top journals used by nurses and health professionals around the world. Includes titles such as AJN, JONA, Advances in Nursing Science, and Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise.

Publication Types:
Evidence Based Recommended Practices: Interventions or procedures that describe and/or recommend certain practices on selected clinical topics. Recommended Practices are based on the best available evidence and each practice consists of an equipment list, a recommended practice, occupational health and safety provisions, and an adjoining evidence summary where evidence is available.

Evidence Summaries: Short abstracts that summarize existing international evidence on common health care interventions and activities. Based on structured searches of the literature and selected evidence-based health care databases.

Best Practice Information Sheets (BPIS): Short summaries based on the results and recommendations of systematic reviews. BPIS are easily disseminated and provide busy health professionals access to key issues and recommendations that have been collected from a large volume of material.

Systematic Reviews: An analysis of all of the available literature (that is, evidence) and involves developing a question; establishing inclusion criteria; developing a strategy to comprehensively search for the evidence; appraising the quality of each paper; excluding papers of poor quality; extracting the findings of included papers; and synthesizing the findings of included papers.

Consumer Information Sheets (CIS): Standardized summaries on a wide range of health care interventions and activities targeted at consumers of health care i.e. patients/residents/clients, relatives and carers. Each Consumer Information Sheet is based on the best available international evidence and each year, every existing entry is updated and new entries are added in response to customer requests.

Systematic Review Protocol: Documents background information and the plan for conducting a systematic review.

Technical Report: Documents the development of best practice information sheets from the source systematic review.

PubMed is available independent of Elmhurst College-based subscriptions. It includes multiple levels of evidence-based literature, and is an essential resource for Nursing research.

To see additional filters in PubMed, you must first perform a search. In the search results page, you'll see these limiters (more are available than what's visible). Useful categories to limit by would be:

Article types
Text availability
Journal categories
Publication dates

To see full text availability, click on an article citation and look for the Elmhurst College "FindIt" button in the upper right-hand corner. This button will open another screen and attempt to direct you to the Elmhurst-owned full-text article, if we have it. Also, the "LinkOut" feature can link to Elmhurst resources (but this feature does not automatically link you to the full-text; Elmhurst has to subscribe to the database).

In addition to the Pubmed database, you can also select "Books" from the list next to the search box to browse publications and materials not included in a standard PubMed search.