|
Popular articles
|
Scholarly Articles
|
|
Are written for a general audience- not specialists
|
Are written for professionals or specialists in a field
|
|
Are written by journalists
|
Are written by specialists or professionals in a field
|
|
Are stories typically assigned to writers by an editor
|
Are written by scholars who are sharing their research with fellow scholars. These articles go through a process of peer-review
|
|
Are written in language aimed at non specialists- "anyone" can understand
|
May be written using highly specialized or technical language- the "jargon" of a field
|
|
Can be short, to the point, summaries of a story or idea
|
Are more lengthy, explore a topic in depth
|
|
Magazines are often filled with pictures, advertising for general products
|
Journals rarely have pictures (though there may be graphs of data) and only have professional ads, if any
|
|
Never have a bibliography or list of references
|
Always have a bibliography or list of references
|
Provides abstracts from over 12,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from 8,500 titles, including more than 7,300 that are peer-reviewed. Almost every topic of study is covered. The database is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from more than 1,400 journals.
These databases have a variety of sources in them, on a multitude of topics. They're not a bad place to start, but you will have to be careful to make sure you are looking at scholarly articles.
OmniFile Full Text Select Edition is a multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing full text articles, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts. Coverage of more than 3100 publications goes back to 1994.
Covers a variety of areas pertaining to communication and mass media. The product of a merging of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, CMMC contains the full text of over 500 titles in addition to citations to several other types of documents and searchable cited references.
These databases contain scholarly & professional articles on Communication Studies topics.
