Skip to Main Content

EYC 328 Child, Family and Community Relationships: Resources

EYC 328

This guide will help you throughout the research process for your advocacy paper.  
Use this guide to start your search with the most relevant resources Elmhurst has to offer and vetted internet sites.
Also, look at the APA resources on the writing and citing tab.

 

Internet Resources

Advocacy Resources for Children and Families

  • American Library Association, Everyday Advocacy Challenge
  • Blessings in a Backpack
  • Bright & Early DuPage a DuPage Foundation program, established in 1986 to raise the quality of life throughout DuPage County, we help area residents and organizations realize their unique charitable goals, provide impactful support to our community’s not-for-profits, and foster key partnerships to address critical issues affecting DuPage County.
  • CEDA's mission to work in partnership with communities to empower families and individuals to achieve self-sufficiency and improve their quality of life.
  • The Children's Bureau partners with federal, state, tribal and local agencies to improve the overall health and well-being of our nation’s children and families.
  • The Children's Defense Fund CDF provides a strong, effective and independent voice for all the children of America who cannot vote, lobby or speak for themselves.
  • ChildStats.com The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. The Forum was founded in 1994 and formally established in April 1997 under Executive Order No. 13045. The mission of the Forum is to foster coordination and collaboration and to enhance and improve consistency in the collection and reporting of Federal data on children and families
  • Child Welfare Information Gateway  connecting child welfare and related professionals to comprehensive resources to help protect children and strengthen families
  • Child Welfare League CWLA leads and engages its network of public and private agencies and partners to advance policies, best practices and collaborative strategies that result in better outcomes for children, youth and families that are vulnerable.
  • Children Now  Children Now is the leading non-partisan national, state and local research, policy development, and advocacy organization dedicated to improving children's overall well-being.
  • CLASP Since 1969, CLASP has been a trusted resource, a creative architect for systems change, and one of the country's most effective voices for low income people.
  • DuPage County Services provides listings of contacts for a variety of programs and assistance
  • DuPage County Immigration Resources
  • The Future of Children is a collaboration of the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs at Princeton University and the Brookings Institution.  The mission of the Future of Children is to translate the best social science research about children and youth into information that is useful to policymakers, practitioners, grant-makers, advocates, the media, and students of public policy
  • Homless & Poverty Website from Tulane University
  • Illinois Action Community Agencies
  • Illinois Cares for Kids
  • Illinois Coalition for Immigrant and Refugee Rights
  • Illinois Department of Human Services ~ Immigrations Resources
  • Kaboom is the national non-profit dedicated to bringing balanced and active play into the daily lives of all kids, particularly those growing up in poverty in America. All kids get the childhood they deserve filled with balanced and active play, so they can thrive.
  • Kids Count, The Annie E. Casey Foundation is devoted to developing a brighter future for millions of children at risk of poor educational, economic, social and health outcomes.
  • National Association for the Education of Young Children, Center for Applied Research Provides resources to help advocates forge connections between early childhood research, practice, and policy.
  • The National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) is one of the nation’s leading public policy centers dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children. NCCP uses research to inform policy and practice with the goal of ensuring positive outcomes for the next generation. We promote family-oriented solutions at the state and national levels.
  • National Center for Education Statistics is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S
  • National Center for Family Literacy provides statistics on reading, education, English language learners, and more.
  • The National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN) promotes secondary analysis of child abuse and neglect data by providing researchers with high quality datasets, documentation, and technical support, and encourages collaboration within the scientific community. NDACAN is a project of the Bronfenbrenner Center for Translational Research located in the College of Human Ecology at Cornell University in Ithaca, NY.

  • Representing Children Worldwide, RCW is a research project which compiles information and resources on how children's voices are heard in child protective proceedings around the country and around the world in the year 2005. The website provides a summary of the practices of the 194 signatories to the United Nations Convention on the Rights of a Child (UNCRC) with respect to this question, as well as background information on the jurisdiction's child protective practices and web resources and contact information for further research in this field.

  • Solve Hunger Today.org

  • State Statutes for Family Law from Cornell

  • Stand for Children

  • Young Center for Immigrant Children's Rights "The Young Center for Immigrant Children’s Rights protects and advances the rights and best interests of immigrant children according to the Convention on the Rights of the Child and state and federal law."

  • ZERO TO THREE, the National Center for Infants, Toddlers, and Families, includes facts, statistics and policy.

Charity Organization Reviews

Multicultural Resources for Teachers


Websites for Education Majors

Suggested Search Terms

Preschool

Preschool Children

Community

Community Programs

Child Development

Child Support 

Early Childhood Intervention

Educational Programs

Social Work

Social Justice

Crisis Child Care

Parenting

Immigration

Home Visiting

Children At Risk

Educational Databases

Intelibrary Loan