A.C. Buehler Library: KIN 210 Foundations of Sport Management: Research in Sport Management

Sport Management Journals

International Journal of Sport Management, Recreation & Tourism (IJSMaRT)
International Journal of Sports Marketing and Sponsorship
Journal of Sport and Social Issues (available online in Sage Journals Online)
Journal of Sport Management
Managing Sport & Leisure (available online in Business Source Premier)
Sport Management Review (available online in ScienceDirect)
Sport Marketing Quarterly (available online in Business Source Premier)
Street & Smith's SportsBusiness Journal

Databases

SPORTDiscus

Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains well over 1.7 million records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
Academic Search Complete

Provides abstracts from over 12,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from 8,500 titles, including more than 7,300 that are peer-reviewed. Almost every topic of study is covered. The database is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from more than 1,400 journals.
Business Source Premier

Contains full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes other full text information such as: country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch; detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies; and market research reports, industry reports, and SWOT analyses.
Sage Journals Online
A collection of over 700 peer-reviewed journals in full text, covering such subject areas as business, the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment
BLASE is designed to assist researchers in locating sources relevant to the many issues surrounding these critically important subject areas, both of which have now attained global prominence. Organized into sixteen tabs, each covering a distinct type of material, the database builds upon HeinOnline’s historical strengths in legal periodical literature, case law, and U. S. federal and state materials by providing a unique topical arrangement for the documents within each tab while also adding many important new resources not previously available in HeinOnline.

Other Internet Resources

Books on Sport Management

Contemporary Sport Management by Paul M. Pedersen (Editor); Lucie Thibault (Editor)
Call Number: 796.069 C761C

ISBN: 9781492550952

Publication Date: 2018

Contemporary Sport Management is organized into four parts. Part I provides an overview of the field and the important leadership concepts associated with it. Part II details the major settings in which many sport management positions are carried out. In part III, readers learn about the key functional areas of sport management, including sport marketing, sport consumer behavior, sport communication, sport facility and event management, and more. And in part IV, readers examine current sport management issues, including how sport management interfaces with law, sociology, globalization, analytics, and research.
Human Resource Management in Sport and Recreation by Packianathan Chelladurai; Shannon Kerwin
Call Number: 796.0693 C516H 2017

ISBN: 9781492535850

Publication Date: 2017

Human Resource Management in Sport and Recreation, Third Edition, provides current and future practitioners with a solid foundation in research and application of human resource management in the sport and recreation industries. Organized into four parts, the text begins by outlining the unique and common characteristics of the three groups of human resources in sport and recreation. Part II focuses on differences in people and how the differences affect behavior in sport and recreation organizations. In part III, readers explore significant organizational processes in the management of human resources. Part IV discusses two significant outcomes expected of human resource practices: satisfaction and commitment. Finally, a conclusion synthesizes information and presents a set of founding and guiding themes.
Managing Sport Facilities by Gil Fried
Call Number: 725.8043 F899M 2015

ISBN: 9781450468114

Publication Date: 2015

In Managing Sport Facilities, Third Edition, students will learn the history of the sport facility industry and the primary goals and objectives of facility managers; how to build and finance a facility; facility operation; administration of marketing, finance, and other critical areas; and event administration and management. A comprehensive approach to understanding the wide-ranging job of sport facility managers has been applied, with a structure that builds from general to specific, and finally to practical knowledge in the final chapter.
Managing Sport Events by T. Christopher Greenwell; Leigh Ann Danzey-Bussell; David J. Shonk
Call Number: 796.069 G816M

ISBN: 9780736096119

Publication Date: 2013-08-02

Managing Sport Events integrates the traditional business segments of sport management with the unique requirements of event management. From a local youth soccer tournament to the Olympic Games, Managing Sport Events is an essential resource for current and future professionals working in parks and recreation, tourism and hospitality, and sports at the high school, college, amateur, minor league, professional, and international levels.
Routledge Handbook of Theory in Sport Management by George B. Cunningham (Editor); Janet S. Fink (Editor); Alison Doherty (Editor)
Call Number: e-book

ISBN: 9781138803848

Publication Date: 2015-10-26

Theory is an essential element in the development of any academic discipline and sport management is no exception. This is the first book to trace the intellectual contours of theory in sport management, and to explain, critique and celebrate the importance of sport management theory in academic research, teaching and learning, and in the development of professional practice. Written by a world-class team of international sport management scholars, each of whom has taken a leading role in developing a particular theory or framework for understanding sport management, the book covers the full span of contemporary issues, debates, themes and functional approaches, from corporate social responsibility and diversity to strategy, marketing and finance.