A.C. Buehler Library: International Students' Library Resources: Library Basics

Welcome to the A.C. Buehler Library

Your Jaypass is your library card!

There is no limit to the number of books you may check out.
Books check out for a 4 week loan period.
There are no fines on regular circulating books
There are fines on Reserve Materials & Our Textbook Collection.
Reserve Materials & Our Textbook Collection have short loan periods.
Reserve Materials & Our Textbook Collection are searchable via Bluejay Search

However, if you do not return the books there will be replacement cost.

Bluejay Search is our library catalog.

Search for books, A/V, e-resources, articles and more from one place.

See this video for a quick tour of Bluejay Search.

To renew items, click to access My Library Account.

Course Guides, Library Guides & Bibliographies are helpful to find information on a variety of topics from Blackboard use to how to do basic research in Psychology.

Helpful Books for Writing Papers

From Inquiry to Academic Writing: a Text and Reader by Stuart Greene; April Lidinsky
ISBN: 1319244017
Publication Date: 2020-09-23
"Available for the first time with Macmillans new online learning tool, Achieve, From Inquiry to Academic Writing helps students understand academic culture and its ways of thinking, reading, and writing. With a practical and widely proven step-by-step approach, the text demystifies cross-curricular thinking and writing. An extensive thematic reader brings students into interdisciplinary conversations that not only bear on their college careers but also reflect larger cultural issues that they will encounter outside the academy. The fifth edition includes 23 new readings (forty percent) and an increased emphasis on using critical reading to evaluate multiple perspectives and stretch beyond binary thinking. Achieve for From Inquiry to Academic Writing is a dedicated composition space that guides students through drafting, peer review, source check, reflection, and revision." --
A Guide to Writing in the Sciences by Andrea Gilpin; Patricia Patchet-Golubev
ISBN: 1442627611
Publication Date: 2019-08-19
While teaching writing to undergraduate science students, Gilpin and Patchet-Golubev discovered that although many relatively sophisticated manuals for scientific writing exist, most are aimed at mainly professionals or specialists and are of little practical use to the majority of students. This introductory guide fills that large gap. Direct and friendly in tone the book provides clear and concise explanations of the basic elements of scientific writing required of students. The various genres are detailed - in particular lab reports and research essays - as well as scientific articles, poster presentations, proposals, and even essay exams. Similarities and differences among these genres are underlined in order to illustrate structural principles and to provide practical writing tips. A detailed chapter covers the elements of grammar and punctuation that are fundamental to all good writing; it also outlines some key points about scientific style in particular. Using accessible language throughout, the authors organize their material with helpful lists, copious examples, and boxed writing and research tips. There are several useful appendices (including a classification chart of organisms and an international units conversion chart), an index, and selected bibliography on science and technical writing. Unique in its field, this guide offers a practical and valuable guide to the basic principles and conventions of science writing.
Reading, Writing, and Discussing at the Graduate Level by Rina Kim; Lillie R. Ablert; Hang Gyun Sihn
ISBN: 0761864121
Publication Date: 2014-09-04
The purpose of this book is to help international students navigate the academic issues they will encounter while attending graduate school in the United States. This book provides guidelines for conquering the obstacles that international graduate students often face, such as developing independent ideas based on required readings, participating in classroom discussions effectively, organizing academic papers, and effectively managing academic work and social relationships. This book is an invaluable tool for international graduate students and their instructors and mentors.

Study Spaces

Collaborative Spaces

Our Main Floor & Lower Level have great spaces for collaboration. We have tables and large desks meant for quiet collaboration. If you need to be in a space where you can be louder, please reserve a group study room below.

We also have a dedicated International Table on the main floor of the library by the Learning Center. A place to gather with friends.

Quiet Spaces

Quiet Study spaces exist on our Upper Level with carrels and soft chairs around the edge of our circulating collection. There is no talking on the third floor except in study rooms.

Reserving Study Rooms

Study Rooms require reservations, you can make them here:

https://elmhurst.libcal.com/r

You must be a current Elmhurst University student to reserve a study room.

Study rooms can be reserved up to a week in advance in 15 minute blocks, 4 hour maximum per day.

Databases to Begin Your Research

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts from over 12,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from 8,500 titles, including more than 7,300 that are peer-reviewed. Almost every topic of study is covered. The database is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from more than 1,400 journals.
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
OmniFile Full Text Select Edition is a multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing full text articles, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts. Coverage of more than 3100 publications goes back to 1994.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies offers extensive, exclusive, and objective analysis of hundreds of today’s hot topics and conflicts by presenting the key facts, arguments, history, and current context of today’s most important issues, along with a wealth of
primary sources, videos, and relevant media coverage, making it an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments. Each
article presents both sides of an issue clearly and without bias in order to inspire thought-provoking discussions.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. There are 2,500 titles indexed, and linked full text is available.

QR Code For This LIBRARY GUIDE

Finding Textbooks

Library Textbook Collection

Textbooks are expensive and we cannot purchase every course's materials.
We purchase affordable textbooks in "high impact" areas, such as;
- 100- and 200- level and/or tagged courses, where the most students are liable to be in need;
- multi-section offerings that share the same materials (usually A and B overlap) and;
- not online or covered by an access license, since those cannot be easily lent.

Finding your textbook

To search for your textbook, choose "Textbook Collection" from the drop-down menu in our catalog (circled in yellow in the screen shot)

You can also browse the collection by a keyword such as "business" or "psychology," or by the ISBN number (though this is very specific search- we recommend you also try a title search)
Make sure we have the edition that your instructor is using! Sometimes, we might have a textbook but not the latest edition that your instructor specified for the class!
Students can check these books out for up to 2hrs in the library and renew if other students aren't waiting for a turn.