A.C. Buehler Library: CHM 496-7 Chemistry Seminar: Secondary Chemistry Sources

What are secondary chemistry sources?

Secondary sources review, repackage and better organizing information from primary sources.

Review articles - provide summarized comprehensive, authoritative, critical, and readable reviews of important recent research in chemistry.
Patents - an intellectual property right granted by the Government of the United States of America to an inventor “to exclude others from making, using, offering for sale, or selling the invention throughout the United States or importing the invention into the United States” for a limited time in exchange for public disclosure of the invention when the patent is granted.

Books/Textbooks - can be a starting place for your research or a way to locate a bibliography on your topic.

Where can I find secondary chemistry sources?

United States Patent and Trademark Office

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts from over 12,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from 8,500 titles, including more than 7,300 that are peer-reviewed. Almost every topic of study is covered. The database is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from more than 1,400 journals.
SpringerLink Journals and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 2200 journals in all disciplines, with over 1650 in full text back to 1997; AND over 8000 fulltext ebooks (medicine from 2005-2010, and all STEM areas from 2014).
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
OmniFile Full Text Select Edition is a multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing full text articles, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts. Coverage of more than 3100 publications goes back to 1994.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a collection of more than 612,000 scholarly, government and general-interest records that include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
PubChem This link opens in a new window
PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. More information about using each component database may be found using the links in the homepage.

Subject Guide

Jennifer Paliatka

Email Me

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Computer Science & Information Systems, Data Science, Mathematics, Physics, Psychology