A.C. Buehler Library: ART 342 Survey History of Modern Art: Researching the Artists

Chicago Imagists Selected Websites

The Chicago Imagists Interactive Archive developed by Pentimenti Productions is an excellent online resource where you can see images and interviews with the artists.

The Madison Museum of Contemporary Art's The Chicago Imagists Study Center is another wonderful source for information about the artists.\

Made in Chicago: The Koffler Collection: The Smithsonian Museum of Art. The Collections is 25 paintings, sculpture and works on paper

The Kohler Foundation: Ray Yoshida Collection includes pieces of Chicago Imagist art.

Using Google as a search engine, you can find an amazing amount of information on almost all of our artists in our collection. However, please remember to use your information literacy skills to go to reputable resources. Museums, reputable news agencies, reputable organizations, educational sites and government sites.

A few examples are below:

The Art Institute of Chicago

Artnet

ARTnews.com

PBS

Carnegie Art Museum

Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago

MOMA

NPR

The New York Times

Use the Resources from other Guide Page

Bibliography: Artists of the Elmhurst University Art Collection

Artists of the EU Art Collection - Bibliography
List of library materials regarding the artists of the Elmhurst University Art Collection.

The Elmhurst University Art Collection is included in the Art and Architecture in Illinois Libraries project. You can also find out more about the collection via the University's website: https://www.elmhurst.edu/about/elmhurst-university-art-collection /

Additional Interest

Databases for Artist Information

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An electronic archive of journal titles in a variety of disciplines, often going back to the first issue of a journal's existence. In addition, a collection of over 1.8 million digital images of paintings, photos, architectural works, sculptures, and design pieces from around the world from all time periods.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts from over 12,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from 8,500 titles, including more than 7,300 that are peer-reviewed. Almost every topic of study is covered. The database is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from more than 1,400 journals.
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
OmniFile Full Text Select Edition is a multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing full text articles, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts. Coverage of more than 3100 publications goes back to 1994.
Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Gets you to the full text (excluding advertisements) from 1985-date. To see the full text of the Tribune from 1849-1990, go to ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Allows you to access the full text from 1980-present. For information on setting up a free account to NYTimes.com, see this page: https://library.elmhurst.edu/newssources
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the entire text of the renowned Grove Dictionary of Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art. Covers all aspects of the visual arts worldwide. Subscription is limited to 3 simultaneous users.