A.C. Buehler Library: CSD 345 Professional Writing: Find Articles

Journal Articles

The articles you will be looking for are mainly published in the major scholarly speech pathology journals, which can be found in the databases listed below.
The American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, American Journal of Audiology, and Journal of Speech, Language & Hearing Research can all be found in CINAHL.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Provides indexing for more than 5,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Searchable cited references for nearly 1,500 journals are also included.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,470 journals. Coverage back to 1949 with fulltext back to 1965, includes searchable citations to more than 4800 current journals.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is a key source for education information. Allows users to access articles from scholarly as well as professional periodicals, in addition to ERIC documents back to 1966 - more than 1.4 million records in all. Many articles are available in full-text, and there are links to full-text ERIC documents available.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. There are 2,500 titles indexed, and linked full text is available.

Other places to look

You may also find it useful to look in a few other databases that contain publications specific to education, autism research, geriatrics and aging, etc.

Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
Covers a variety of areas pertaining to communication and mass media. The product of a merging of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, CMMC contains the full text of over 500 titles in addition to citations to several other types of documents and searchable cited references.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 700 peer-reviewed journals in full text, covering such subject areas as business, the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A free, comprehensive, medical journal literature database from the National Library of Medicine (NLM). This link includes a button that will search Elmhurst University resources.
Emcare This link opens in a new window
Emcare, produced by Elsevier, covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine. Emcare includes unique content not found in other nursing and allied health databases and features more than a thousand journals not covered by Elsevier’s Embase database.

But how do I get the full text articles?

If you have a DOI, scroll down on the Citation Linker page and enter it instead of all of the other citation information.

Citation Linker - Bluejay Search
Elmhurst University's Citation Linker - Bluejay Search allows you to input a citation, DOI or PMID and retrieve the item if it is available in full text.
Finding Full Text from References AND MyEBSCOhost
Short video tutorial on how to hunt down articles from a reference list, and information about setting up a MyEBSCOhost account to help organize article citations.

ASHA Resources

From the American Speech-Language-Hearing-Association (ASHA)

https://asha.org/
Perspectives of the ASHA Special Interest Groups (we have full text 2018-date)

ASHA Journals available in EBSCOhost:

Other ASHA information pages: