A.C. Buehler Library: Advocacy 101: News Sources

Media Bias

The above chart is from mediabiaschart.com, where you can see their methodology that determined how sources are ranked. Here's a link to the latest version of the chart:

https://www.adfontesmedia.com/static-mbc/?fbclid=IwAR2PnsjOozGUJsGBChmcRAeF6iYhxghchBwcMfCcQUpkbP8eQOTHXxcMUhs#iLightbox[83b6a68c65a7299f5b2]/0

The Chart, 3.), What, Exactly are We Reading?

https://www.adfontesmedia.com/the-chart-version-3-0-what-exactly-are-we-reading/?v=402f03a963ba

Respected News Outlets - Databases

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Allows you to access the full text from 1980-present. For information on setting up a free account to NYTimes.com, see this page: https://library.elmhurst.edu/newssources
Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Gets you to the full text (excluding advertisements) from 1985-date. To see the full text of the Tribune from 1849-1990, go to ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Allows you to access the full text of the paper from 1984-present.
ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. It offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. It also offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago). Local papers covered also include the Chicago Sun-Times, Chicago Defender, and Daily Herald.

Respected Media Sources - Radio, TV and Web

Neutral, Non-Partisan Sources
Associated Press - independent, not-for-profit news cooperative headquartered with coverage in over 100 countries.
Economist - offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science, technology.
CSPAN - provides access to the live gavel-to-gavel proceedings of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, and to other forums where public policy is discussed, debated and decided––all without editing, commentary or analysis and with a balanced presentation of points of view.
The Center for Public Integrity - one of the country's oldest and largest nonpartisan, nonprofit investigative news organizations
Cook Political Report - an independent, non-partisan newsletter that analyzes elections and campaigns for the US House of Representatives, US Senate, Governors and President as well as American political trends.
FairVote - a non-partisan, 501(c)(3)h non-profit organization that seeks to make democracy fair, functional, and more representative.

Right-Leaning Sources
Real Clear Politics - News, political opinion and commentary, and the political issues of the day.
Forbes - Core topics include business, technology, stock markets, personal finance, and lifestyle.
Cato Institute - a public policy research organization dedicated to the principles of individual liberty, limited government, free markets and peace.

Left-Leaning Sources
PBS News Hour - evening news broadcast offering news updates, analysis, live studio interviews, discussions, in-depth reporting.
Politico - Political news about Congress, the White House, campaigns, lobbyists and issues.
National Public Radio - delivers breaking national and world news. Also top stories from business, politics, health, science, technology, music, arts and culture.

Foreign Media Sources

BBC News - provides trusted World and UK news.
Al Jazeera News - News, analysis from the Middle East & worldwide.
Reuters - the latest news from around the world, covering breaking news in business, politics, entertainment, technology, video and pictures.