A.C. Buehler Library: EDU 311/PSY 311 Educational Psychology: Educational Psychology Articles

Publication Process

Popular Press: Material written for the general public.

Scholarly Journal: Articles written by experts in academic or professional fields.

Peer-Reviewed: Articles are submitted to rigorous scrutiny by other subject experts prior to publication.

Article Types

Empirical Article: Research articles describe and document research conducted by the author(s). Empirical studies are based on data derived from observation or experimentation. Research articles usually comprise an abstract, introduction, methodology, results, discussion, list of references and appendices.

Literature Review: An article in which the authors present the findings of other scholars studies. A literature review identifies major scholars and studies in a particular research area, summarizes current findings and provides a robust bibliography.

Here's a refresher of what you learned in class about the difference between empirical and literature review articles.

Psychology Databases

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. There are 2,500 titles indexed, and linked full text is available.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete full text of nearly 100 American Psychological Association (APA) journals and from allied organizations. Coverage from 1894-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An electronic archive of journal titles in a variety of disciplines, often going back to the first issue of a journal's existence. In addition, a collection of over 1.8 million digital images of paintings, photos, architectural works, sculptures, and design pieces from around the world from all time periods.

How to use JSTOR videos

Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 700 peer-reviewed journals in full text, covering such subject areas as business, the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.

Finding Articles with Citations and Interlibrary Loan

If you are looking for a specific article, try the Citation Linker - Bluejay Search

Search for a specific journal using this: Journal Search (Bluejay Search)

Article Interlibrary Loan Request
If we do not have online access, we may be able to find it electronically and send it to your email address
Book Interlibrary Load Request
Use this form to request books not available through the I-Share statewide catalog.