A.C. Buehler Library: MBA Program Orientation: Resources

Business News Sources

ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes the ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-2011)‎ and ProQuest Global Newstream (1984 - current).
ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. It offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. It also offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago). Local papers covered also include the Chicago Sun-Times, Chicago Defender, and Daily Herald.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Allows you to access the full text of the paper from 1984-present.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Has full-text articles from over 100 regional business publications from throughout the United States and Canada, including Crain's Chicago Business, with coverage back to 1990.

Free internet resources

Bloomberg News

Reuters Finance

Businessweek

Chicago Tribune Business

CNNMoney

Crain's Chicago Business
Local Chicago publication, limited free content. Get full text from 1996-present via the library's subscription to MasterFILE Premier.

- MasterFILE Premier

Forbes

Financial Times
A British news source, limited free content. Get full text via the library's subscription to Nexis Uni.
- Nexis Uni link to full-text search
New York Times Business Day

The Street News

US News & World Report Money

Wall Street Journal
Limited free content. Get full text via the library's subscription to ProQuest Newsstand.

- Wall Street Journal
  Allows you to access the full text of the paper from 1984-present.

Databases & Print Resources with company information

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Company Histories, vols. 1 - 67, R338.74 I61

Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands R658.8343 E56 Three volumes, Describes brand origins, product importance, marketing strategies, litigation, etc.

Hoovers' Handbook of Private Companies ~Rare source for privately-owned company information R338.7 H789P

Business Journal Article resources and industry information

There are full-text case study sources in the Business Source Premier database; if you try searching for the company in one box, use the keywords "case," "case*," (asterisk searches all endings of the word "case"), or "case studies" and the name of a company in the second box.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes other full text information such as: country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch; detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies; and market research reports, industry reports, and SWOT analyses.
Marketscope Advisor This link opens in a new window
MarketScope Advisor provides universities with easy access to Equity Research, news, and commentary. Information included:
Industry Surveys, including access to all historical surveys; research on thematic topics; an interactive Sector Scorecard that allows users to drill down to sub-industries for fundamental outlooks on roughly 125 sub-industries across 11 sectors and 68 industries; news on financial markets and global economy; STARS coverage on 1600+ companies and quantitative research on 12,000+ companies; and broad, forward-looking ratings of approximately 23,000 ETFs and mutual funds and research that can help sort through the growing universe of portfolios.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts from over 12,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from 8,500 titles, including more than 7,300 that are peer-reviewed. Almost every topic of study is covered. The database is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from more than 1,400 journals.

Marketing/ Demographics

Use these resources to find information relating to local, state, national, and international demographics.

The Lifestyle Market Analyst (SRDS) tells you what the range of interests of a given market demographic are; R 658.834 L 723

RKMA Market Research Reports This link opens in a new window
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) publishes handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace. RKMA publishes 12 biennial market research handbooks, which support MBA, marketing, hospitality management, and sports
management curricula.

Who's Buying series
The Who's Buying Series are based on the Bureau of Labor Statistics Expenditure Survey, and cover a range of consumer products and services; older edition available in print: R 381.0973 W628.
Market Share Reporter
Use Advanced Search, click on Market Share Reporter, and search for your industry.
Marketing resources
An assortment of reference materials related to marketing, all available in the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
US Census Bureau - Explore Census Data
Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.On March 31, 2020, American FactFinder was decommissioned and is no longer available.
To do an address search to find the geography for a community, use the Census Bureau’s Geocoder.
U.S. Census Bureau Home true

Citation Linker

Citation Linker - Bluejay Search
Elmhurst University's Citation Linker - Bluejay Search allows you to input a citation, DOI or PMID and retrieve the item if it is available in full text.

If you have a journal or book citation and you want to see if we have the full-text in print or electronic versions, click on the Citation Linker above.

On this screen, enter as much of the citation infomation as you can...if we have the book or journal in our collection, you'll be given a link to that item.

Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form
Use this form to request articles not available through the A.C. Buehler library's databases.
Interlibrary Loan Book Request Form
Use this form to request books not available through the I-Share statewide catalog.

Books

Bluejay Search This link opens in a new window

Elmhurst I-Share Catalog

The catalog of the A.C. Buehler Library. Use this resource to find books, ebooks, journal titles, movies, and music owned by Elmhurst College, and information about items located in over 80 academic and research libraries in Illinois.