There are lots of different ways of starting the process of doing research. 

One place to start is with General Resources.

General Resources are encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and other reference sources that give you an overview or broad picture of your topic. You should consider starting your research process with General Sources if:

• You are starting research on an unfamiliar topic
• You need some background information on your topic
• You find "holes" in your information as you do other research and want to fill them in

Here are a couple of other suggestions for sources to use as you begin to explore a topics.

The Library also has several book series:

• Opposing Viewpoints
• Global Viewpoints
• Current Controversies
• Taking Sides

which are also good for beginning some research as well as exploring a range of possibilities for research questions and argument theses. I've linked to examples for the book series, but you can search for your topic in the catalog as well. Here's how:

• Use Advanced Search
• Put your topic words in the first box
• Put the books series title (Opposing Viewpoints, Current Controveises, Global Viewpoints, etc) in the 2nd box
• Drop open the "Search by" menu and choose Series Title

• Credo Reference: An online collection of over 1000 reference books, covering a wide range of subjects, from art to technology. Credo Reference also includes a selection of specialized reference books from Sage Publishing.
• Gale eBooks: Contains the full-text of hundreds of print reference titles and series, allowing you access to key reference sources without having to be in the library. Includes a variety of topics, and all titles in the Scribner's and Twayne's author series. Most Gale eBook titles can also be accessed through I-Share.
• Sage Knowledge: A variety of encyclopedias and other reference materials from SAGE publications.