A.C. Buehler Library: EU STEM Academy 2023: Finding Sources

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete
Provides abstracts from over 12,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from 8,500 titles, including more than 7,300 that are peer-reviewed. Almost every topic of study is covered. The database is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from more than 1,400 journals.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE is a collection of more than 612,000 scholarly, government and general-interest records that include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
OmniFile Full Text Select
OmniFile Full Text Select Edition is a multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing full text articles, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts. Coverage of more than 3100 publications goes back to 1994.
AGRICOLA
An index to materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, forestry, animal science, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental science acquired by the National Agriculture Library since 1970. Contains nearly 5 million citations to journal articles, AV materials and book chapters, patents, software, technical reports and theses.
JSTOR
An electronic archive of journal titles in a variety of disciplines, often going back to the first issue of a journal's existence. In addition, a collection of over 1.8 million digital images of paintings, photos, architectural works, sculptures, and design pieces from around the world from all time periods.
Google Scholar
A search engine to broadly search for scholarly literature from one platform across many disciplines and sources.
Web of Science
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences and social sciences and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Elmhurst's subscription includes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index, both with coverage from 1998-present.

All Databases

You may need to look at another one of our databases for other content areas. Use our A-Z List of databases to find one that works for you. Use the "subjects" drop down menu to limit databases choices to your discipline. Not all databases use the same filters or even the same search terms.

Use our Citation Linker to see if we have full-text for a citation that you see.

Popular Press Materials

The Scientist
We have electronically back until 2002.
American Scientist
We have this magazine, full-text, in a couple of different date ranges and in a few different databases.

Science
This journal is peer-reviewed and scholarly. However, it does have some articles intended for a general audience.
Bluejay Search
Welcome to Elmhurst's library catalog, Bluejay Search! Search for physical books and videos, electronic books, and streaming audio and video; or expand your search to more than 90 other research and academic libraries in Illinois.
Chicago Tribune
Gets you to the full text (excluding advertisements) from 1985-date. To see the full text of the Tribune from 1849-1990, go to ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune.
New York Times
Allows you to access the full text from 1980-present. For information on setting up a free account to NYTimes.com, see this page: https://library.elmhurst.edu/newssources
Academic Search Complete
Provides abstracts from over 12,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from 8,500 titles, including more than 7,300 that are peer-reviewed. Almost every topic of study is covered. The database is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from more than 1,400 journals.