A.C. Buehler Library: WL 215: Genocide and the Holocaust: Getting started

Topics and initial starting points

Start with reference sources and books for background information. Try finding scholarly books on your topic--both print and ebooks--see the Holocaust and genocide bibliographies tab for suggested titles.

Research topics- Dr. Summers:

Racism in America
American treatment of Native Americans
American treatment of Japanese-Americans during World War II
Anti-Semitism in America
Rwandan genocide
Cambodian genocide
Armenian genocide
Bosnian massacres and attempted genocide
Eugenics movement in America
The history (particularly as it relates to the period immediately prior to World War II and during the war) and current state of American immigration policies
Films about the Holocaust
Russian Gulag
Holomodor

Getting Background Information

What is Genocide?
From Facing History and Ourselves, an explanation of the meaning, gravity, and history of the concept and crime of genocide.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online collection of over 1000 reference books, covering a wide range of subjects, from art to technology. Credo Reference also includes a selection of specialized reference books from Sage Publishing.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of hundreds of print reference titles and series, allowing you access to key reference sources without having to be in the library. Includes a variety of topics, and all titles in the Scribner's and Twayne's author series. Most Gale eBook titles can also be accessed through I-Share.

BlueJay Search

Bluejay Search This link opens in a new window
Welcome to Elmhurst's library catalog, Bluejay Search! Find books, audio/visual materials, e-resources, articles and more from one place. Also find information about items located in other academic and research libraries in Illinois.

This handy video explains how to get started with BlueJay Search. You can also reach out to the Reference Desk via chat from the library homepage, or email us at library@elmhurst.edu.

Your Librarian

Elaine Fetyko Page

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

630-617-3166

Subjects: Archives & Special Collections, Communication & Media, Digital Media, History, Music, Niebuhr Center, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Theatre & Dance, World Languages, Literatures & Cultures