Library Homepage: Books, Ebooks & Streaming Media

A collection of full-text electronic books available to Elmhurst University students, faculty, and staff; includes a subscription to more than 118,000 titles in the Academic Core collection. EBSCO ebook titles can also be accessed through I-Share.

This project through the CARLI consortium includes more than 29,000 humanities and social science ebook titles from select publishers. It offers online and offline access, read aloud functionality, and usability for portable devices.

A collection ebooks from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas. Elmhurst University has access to the Academic Complete, University Press, and Reference ebook collections.

This ebook collection includes several thousand fiction and non-fiction items and audiobooks. eRead Illinois ebooks offer offline access and usability for portable devices. Requires 14-digit Jaypass barcode number.

An online collection of over 1000 reference books, covering a wide range of subjects, from art to technology. Credo Reference also includes a selection of specialized reference books from Sage Publishing.

Contains the full-text of hundreds of print reference titles and series, allowing you access to key reference sources without having to be in the library. Includes a variety of topics, and all titles in the Scribner's and Twayne's author series. Most Gale eBook titles can also be accessed through I-Share.

A collection of 38 electronic book titles in nursing, from LWW publishers. All titles are also included in the I-Share catalog.

A new collection of e-books available to all library patrons in Illinois. Includes several collections: Recovering the Classics, Popup Picks, Indie Illinois, Library Journal SELF-e Select, Scholarly Resources - Open educational resources (OERs) for students, Bodleian Library collection, BiblioBoard Core and BiblioBoard Access collections, and Plympton collection.

Assorted titles from Salem Press - primarily focused on literature, social sciences, history and science.

All CARLI Governing Members have access to ebooks in all subject areas on the Wiley Online Library platform with the publication dates of 2013-June 2023.

A collection of ebooks in a variety of fields from Oxford University Press with publication dates of January 2018 - March 2023. Subjects include biology, history, law, music, political science, psychology, religion, social work and sociology. Access is provided to all CARLI governing members by CARLI and through crowdfunding of CARLI member libraries.

Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 70,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.

The collection contains 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues. The collection is comprised of documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience.

This outstanding collection of over 650 feature films focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles for educational instructional purposes, including dramas,literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, Academy Award® winners, and more.

A collection of over 35,000 academic videos from a variety of producers, including A&E, PBS, BBC Learning, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HBO Documentary Films, PBS NewsHour, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.

A collection of over 4600 archival films and newsreels spanning the history of moving images.

Find streaming video used by faculty in Elmhurst University courses.

LGBT Studies provides students and researchers across disciplines a multi-content perspective on the LGBT political, cultural and social movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.

A collection of approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and the Global Films Initiative, along with some fifty award-winning shorts. All the films were shown at major festivals. Many were nominated and collectively, the films in the collection have won more than 1,000 awards.

A partnership with Medcom-Trainex, Nursing Education in Video gives faculty and students anywhere-anytime access to Medcom’s highly regarded library of full-length training programs—online in streaming video. Medcom videos have won more than 50 major awards for excellence, including the prestigious Emmy award. Nursing Education in Video covers the fundamentals of nurse training and advanced topics.

This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more.

Find streaming videos used by faculty in Elmhurst University courses.

A collection of over 500 videos of theatre performances as well as educational videos about theatre and theatre criticism.