A.C. Buehler Library: CJ Criminal Justice Resources: Scholarly Articles

Criminal Justice Databases

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database This link opens in a new window
Contains references to over 220,000 articles and reports on criminal justice topics; includes a few links to full text documents.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
At the top of the screen, please select Criminal Justice from the Menu.

How Can I Find Articles That Are Not Full-Text?

Citation Linker - Bluejay Search
Elmhurst University's Citation Linker - Bluejay Search allows you to input a citation, DOI or PMID and retrieve the item if it is available in full text.
Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form
Use this form to request articles not available through the A.C. Buehler library's databases.

BlueJay Search

Bluejay Search This link opens in a new window
Welcome to Elmhurst's library catalog, Bluejay Search! Search for books, audio/visual materials, e-resources, articles and more from one place. Also find information about items located in many other academic and research libraries in Illinois.

Use this resource to find books, journal titles, movies, and music owned by Elmhurst University, and information about items located in 80 academic and research libraries in Illinois.

This handy video explains how to get started with BlueJay Search. You can also reach out to the Reference Desk via chat from the library homepage or email at library@elmhurst.edu.

Other Article Databases

Use the following database sources to search for scholarly journal articles. We may not have everything available full text, use the "Find It!" button to find articles or order them via interlibrary loan.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2.3 million records as well as abstracts for over 2,500 journals, as well as conference papers, books, and monographs. Includes almost 900 full text journals, hundreds of books, thousands of conference papers, and 25,000 author profiles. Topics covered include urban studies, anthropology, criminology and criminal justice, ethnic and racial studies, marriage and the family, social psychology, and sociological theory.

Annual Review of Sociology
A collection of critical reviews written by leading scientists of significant primary research literature in the field of Sociology. (2008-date available full text online through Annual Reviews; 1975-5 years ago is available online through JSTOR)
Annual Review of Sociology (through JSTOR)
Full text is available from JSTOR from 1975 to 5 years ago.

Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 700 peer-reviewed journals in full text, covering such subject areas as business, the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
SpringerLink Journals and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 2200 journals in all disciplines, with over 1650 in full text back to 1997; AND over 8000 fulltext ebooks (medicine from 2005-2010, and all STEM areas from 2014).
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts from over 12,500 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, and others, with full text articles from 8,500 titles, including more than 7,300 that are peer-reviewed. Almost every topic of study is covered. The database is updated daily, and includes searchable cited references from more than 1,400 journals.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. There are 2,500 titles indexed, and linked full text is available.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An electronic archive of journal titles in a variety of disciplines, often going back to the first issue of a journal's existence.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
An online library of over 325 journals from 120 scholarly publishers. Some full text dates back to 1993. Journals in this collection cover primarily the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.