A.C. Buehler Library: CJ Criminal Justice Resources: Books

Find Books and More at the A.C. Buehler Library

Bluejay Search This link opens in a new window

I-Share Member Libraries
Bluejay Search - My Library Account
Check your account for items currently checked out, holds, and fines.

Some tips on using the I-Share catalog

Some tips for effective I-Share Searching:

What should you select in the "Search By" box? It depends on what you are looking for....

Title Searches: Use when you are looking for a specific book: ie To Kill a Mockingbird
Author Searches: Use when you are looking for books written by a particular author: ie William Shakespeare
- If you are looking for books written about an author, do a Subject search
ISBN/ISSN Searches: Use when you are looking for a specific book by the ISBN or a specific journal and you have the ISSN.

There are two kinds of searches you will use when you are researching a SUBJECT:

Keyword Searches: Use when you are first starting out with a search and you're not sure what you will find.
- A keyword search can be a good way to get at more specific words that will help you find more useful information
- This can be frustrating if the words you are using are not the "right" ones
Subject Searches: Use these when you know (or would like to find out) the Subject headings that pertain to your topic.
- Subject Searching can be an extremely efficient way to find information on a topic
- The catalog can "help" you figure out what Subject headings are
- The catalog can "help" you use Subject headings to find more books--you can click on the subject heading and get to more titles

Where do I find ebooks?

Bluejay Search This link opens in a new window
EBSCO ebooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text electronic books available to Elmhurst University students, faculty, and staff; includes a subscription to more than 118,000 titles in the Academic Core collection. EBSCO ebook titles can also be accessed through I-Share.
EBL ebooks (CARLI) This link opens in a new window
This project through the CARLI consortium includes more than 29,000 humanities and social science ebook titles from select publishers. It offers online and offline access, read aloud functionality, and usability for portable devices.
Ebook Central ebook collection This link opens in a new window
A collection ebooks from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas. Elmhurst University has access to the Academic Complete, University Press, and Reference ebook collections.
eRead Illinois This link opens in a new window
This ebook collection includes several thousand fiction and non-fiction items and audiobooks. eRead Illinois ebooks offer offline access and usability for portable devices. Requires 14-digit Jaypass barcode number.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online collection of over 1000 reference books, covering a wide range of subjects, from art to technology. Credo Reference also includes a selection of specialized reference books from Sage Publishing.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of hundreds of print reference titles and series, allowing you access to key reference sources without having to be in the library. Includes a variety of topics, and all titles in the Scribner's and Twayne's author series. Most Gale eBook titles can also be accessed through I-Share.
Nursing@Ovid Books Extended Core Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of 38 electronic book titles in nursing, from LWW publishers. All titles are also included in the I-Share catalog.
BiblioBoard This link opens in a new window
A new collection of e-books available to all library patrons in Illinois. Includes several collections: Recovering the Classics, Popup Picks, Indie Illinois, Library Journal SELF-e Select, Scholarly Resources - Open educational resources (OERs) for students, Bodleian Library collection, BiblioBoard Core and BiblioBoard Access collections, and Plympton collection.
Salem Press Reference Shelf This link opens in a new window
Assorted titles from Salem Press - primarily focused on literature, social sciences, history and science.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
All CARLI Governing Members have access to ebooks in all subject areas on the Wiley Online Library platform with the publication dates of 2013-June 2023.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks in a variety of fields from Oxford University Press with publication dates of January 2018 - March 2023. Subjects include biology, history, law, music, political science, psychology, religion, social work and sociology. Access is provided to all CARLI governing members by CARLI and through crowdfunding of CARLI member libraries.